Daily Archives: September 5, 2007

How old am I again?

Last Saturday at my Karate class there were a few new people. It was the first class of the semester and they had announced on their website “Beginners Welcome!”. The Karate club is part of the different Columbia student’s associations and it’s opened to everyone affiliated with the university. TC is a graduate school, and it has it’s separate building from main campus, so I’m not use to encountering that many undergrad students in my day to day. This time though, it was different. The class was in one of the lawns of the main campus and I noticed there were a lot of undergrads as part of the group, which was fun, it’s always nice to be surrounded by young people, but little did I know I could pass by one of them. At the end of the class, while putting on my shoes, I sat next to this guy who had been practicing with us, he was one of the three new people (me included), so I asked how he liked the class. We got to talking and I asked him if he was new at Columbia and where he was from. We chatted a bit and then suddenly he asks “So you’re a freshman too?” Can you imagine my surprise?! I immediately thought “Oh my God, he thinks I’m 18!??! How can that be?” I cleared up the misunderstanding, but needless to say, he made my day!

Yesterday at the student orientation day at TC I was representing my student organization FRSE (Forum on the role of Religion and Spirituality in Education) and was there in front of my poster talking to people and persuading them to sign up, when a guy stops by and starts chatting. He told me he was from Panama, and was working with the Latino Student Coalition group, he had started at TC in January, and had come directly from college. We were chatting along when I noticed he was flirting with me!?! And then suddenly he asks me my age. I know it sounds weird, but the conversation went something like this:

Guy: So how old are you?

Me: How old do you think I am?

Guy: Why do women always say that?

Me: Because it’s a wrong question to ask. You should know better.

Guy: Ok, I have a number in mind.

Me: aha?

Guy: 27!

Me: Nope.

Guy: higher or lower?

Me: : ), higher.

Guy: 30?! (with a no way look on his face)

Me: four, thirty four.

Guy: … so are you married?

Me: : )))))

Isn’t this hilarious? First I pass as freshman and then as a 27 year old! I might be aging as the week progresses, I wonder when I’ll hit my actual age? ; ) Well… I guess I could be 27… but I’m not, I’m 34, and no, I’m not married, not everyone over 30 is married! He’s definitely NOT from NYC! Anyhow, being hit on a boy just out of college made me smile, so cute.

Respondiendo con musica!

Lau me “taggeo”, asi que con mi iTunes en shuffle, aqui va:

1.- ¿Cómo te llamas? It ain’t me, Babe – Johnny Cash and June Carter

2.- ¿Cómo te sientes hoy? Ciega, Sordomuda – Shakira

3.- ¿Cual es tu perspectiva de la vida? En la otra orilla – Rosana

4.- ¿Qué piensa tu familia de ti? To be loved – Curtis Stigers

5.- ¿Qué piensan tus amigos de ti? Amame – Juanes

6.- ¿Qué piensa de ti la gente que no te conoce? We’ve got a groovey thing goin’ – Simon and Garfunkel

7.- ¿Cómo ha sido tu vida amorosa hasta ahora? Ella se fue – Yordano

8.- ¿Cómo será en el futuro? It is time – City at Peace

9.- ¿Te casarás? Butterfly kisses – Faith Hill

10.- ¿Tendrás hijos? Aquello que me diste – Alejandro Sanz

11.- ¿Eres bueno en la escuela? Hermanos de Sangre – Amistades Peligrosas

12.- ¿Exitoso? Mama who bore me – Lea Michele & Girls

13.- ¿Canción para cumpleaños? Uptown Girl – Billy Joel

14.- ¿Canción para tu funeral? Walking on Water – Melissa Etheridge

15.- ¿La cancion sobre tu vida? Where are you going – Karun Boatman

16.- ¿Tu mejor amigo y tú son? Save Room – John Legend

17.- ¿Tu mejor amiga y tú son? Ojala – Silvio Rodriguez

18.- El amor de tu vida y tú se llevan… Go the distance – Disney

19.- ¿Para los tiempos felices…? Touch Me – Ensemble Spring Awakening

20.- ¿Para los tiempos tristes…? Drive all night – Bruce Springsteen

21.- ¿Para todos los días…? A la Vera – Juan Luis Guerra

22.- ¿Para mañana…? Roll with the changes – REO Speedwagon

23.- Para el amor de tu vida: Sapo Lipon – Serenata Guayanesa

24.-¿Para los traumas…? Entre mis recuerdos – Chayanne

Algunas muy atinadas. Tarea cumplida! Si les da nota, lancense!