Daily Archives: September 29, 2007

A no poses first date

I went out with a boy the other day. I should say a guy or a man, because lets face it we are no longer kids, but a boy just sounds sweeter, don’t you think? Anyway, I know what you’re thinking “she’s at it already?!”, but seriously, isn’t the best way to get over someone to be excited with someone new? Besides, he’s the perfect middle grown type of guy, nice in a not a player (hurray!), and also not too-nice kind of way. In fact, he’s just right.

We met for drinks at a place near me. I always think it’s sweet when the guy offers to come near me. This city can be a pain to navigate through, especially when all you count on is public transportation, believe me, not fun to do in heels. Plus on this particular day I had been running through town in very uncomfortable shoes, and managed to get three blisters all together. I just couldn’t go anywhere far.

We had a few drinks at a Mexican place I had picked out, and some appetizers. Then we headed over to a bar for more drinks and more chit-chat. We talked, and talked for hours. He was very nice, genuine, funny, easy going, and refreshing in a way. There were no poses, no pretenses, and above all no expectations and no judgments. I liked it.

We will meet again on Sunday. He has a Harley and invited me for a ride. Again, I know what you’re thinking, “and when did she become a motorcycle kind of girl?!”. I’m not, really, I’m not. But it just seemed so different and kind of fun, so I’m happy to give it a shot. I’ve gone on many first and seconds dates in my search for the right boyfriend, and this one just seemed original enough to peak my interest, so why not?

If there is something that characterizes me is my go-for-it attitude, and my willingness to try new things. I like to think of myself as independent, free willed, and open minded, although I can also be very determined, disciplined, strict, and sometimes a bit conservative for NYC standards. Anyway, my approach to guys and dating has always been: if there’s a little chemistry there (which is rare to say the least), it’s worth checking out. So I’m going on the Harley ride and we’ll see where it takes me. Wish me luck!