Menopause Barbie

This post is for all my girlfriends, to all the ladies out there that I know and care about, young and old. It doesn’t really matter what age you are, if you are a female, this post is for you. From me to you, because I care about you.

I am 43 years old, and as of last Fall, give or take, I started having menopause symptoms. First it was just inconsistent periods, but then all the other stuff started to hit. The diagnosis was confirmed by a blood test prescribed by my gyno, which resulted in high estrogen and low progesterone levels, which are indicative of Peri-Menopause.

The symptoms are nothing I would desire on anyone, unless I really, really disliked them. The over heating sensation, like you are burning up from the inside out, the lack of energy, being tired all the time, hair loss, insomnia, weight gain, and the kicker: acne. All very undesirable symptoms, I have been having on and off since about a year ago. Well, as it turns out every female out there, sooner or later will go through it. Peri-Menopause (the moment any of these symptoms begin) will happen to you all, it’s just a matter of time.

But don’t despair, this is where this post comes in.  My gift to you is this YouTube channel I recently discovered, it’s called Menopause Barbie.

Dr. Barbara Taylor, a retired OBGYN, is now dedicating her time to put her book and seminars into YouTube videos in order to reach a broader audience. She is out to spread the Menopause word to all women out there. the videos are somewhat wacky, but they are filled with useful information and clarify a lot, if not every question you might have about menopause. And if you are Pre-Menopausal, meaning you are not having any symptom (the first one is inconsistent periods), you can still benefit about learning about your body and knowing what to expect, because believe you me, it is coming, and when it gets to you, you will want to know what the heck is going on.

Watch the videos. Check out her website. Download the worksheet and the outline. Or buy her book. But don’t let peri-menopause reach you unprepared and uneducated. Believe me, you will be happy you did it. And if you are going through it right now, you will be so thankful you understand what the deal is with your body, and will learn about all the options you have to manage your body’s changes in whichever way you see fit.

Don’t say I didn’t warn you. You are very welcome!

Leave a Reply

