2016 Goals – Month 1

I shared before I had some goals for 2016, so I thought since we are coming to the end of the first month in 2016 (can you freaking believe it?!), I’d update here my progress.

Regarding the weight loss: I started out at 149.5 lbs and weigh now 146.5 lbs, which is better, yet not really significant since that number fluctuates daily. The lowest I’ve been this month, was a few days ago, at 144 lbs. Again, nothing mayor, but still improvement. I’ll take it as progress.

Regarding the No-Buy: Well I mega crashed and burned there. I realized one of the work trousers I had bought last year was worn out and had to go, and the other two were way too big on me. Not necessarily because I’v lost all that weight, but more so because since I had gained weight and all my pants were too tight, I had both those last year a little bit lose, so I wouldn’t feel tight. The logic, I know. Well, now I needed new black pants for work. I went out to get just that. Yeah, right. I got 5 pairs of pants, 1 blouse, and 2 vests. And I also got two pairs of jeans for Mike. So there went my no-buy in January.

I also bought a little bit of makeup…😦 I ran out of deodorant, and the one I use is sold at Sephora. That, I realize now, is very dangerous. Anyhow, I got myself the needed new deodorant (Lavanila the Healthy Deodorant in Vanilla Coconut), a not-needed yet wanted eyeshadow palette (UD Naked2 Basics) and a primer (MUFE Step 1 Skin Equalizer Primer). I use ebates though, for online shopping, and Sephora had an 8% cash back, so there’s always that.

This month, I’ve also bought a Groupon for a face serum, a lobster roll lunch for two, and yoga classes. The yoga classes though, are also part of the 2016 goals. I need to get back into exercising somehow, and yoga has always been so good for me physical, mentally, and spiritually.

I’ve also bought some toiletries I needed (shampoo, conditioner, body butter lotions, and the sort), but that doesn’t count. As the deodorant from Sephora (only the deodorant), also does not count for the no-buy. Those things are more necessities than wants. The no-buy is really for extras, for those things that are, as we say in Spanish “antojos”.

We went to IKEA this weekend and got a drawer unit (Alex 9-drawer unit). We needed that for the study. To actually free up the study closet, and make more room for Mike’s clothes. Poor Mike had his clothes spread out in 3 rooms. Now, at least they are in just 2. But, I’m guessing that doesn’t count either, because technically, we did need that unit.

Regarding meditation: I’ve been on a roll. Meditating every morning I can, which tends to be 4 out of the 7 days of the week. So, all good there.

I think those were it. I didn’t write down goals, or set deadlines this year. I just kinda said aloud that I wanted to lose 20 lbs and go on a no-buy, to save for a house. The yoga, meditation, and exercise bits, I’ve added to the lose weight goal, which I’m thinking is more of a get healthy goal instead. Overall, I think I’m making progress in some areas, and not so much in others. Hopefully, February, will be on the positive end of the balance for all areas. How are you coming along with your resolutions/goals for 2016? Do you have any?

Leave a Reply

