Calm

Calm

For quite some months now, I’ve been using the Calm app on my iPhone. Have you heard of it? I feel like everyone knows about it already, but by the rare chance you haven’t heard of it yet, I thought I’d share my experience.

I use it mostly every morning. When I need to be somewhere extreemly early, I don’t meditate. Although, once I did practice a commuting meditation while driving, on my way to an elementary school to supervise some of my students. In any case, on days I do meditate, as soon as I wake up, I grab for my iPhone and open the app, and proceed to meditate for 10 to 20 mimutes, depending on the selected session. The app has a lot of different programs to complete, or independent sessions within particular topics,  with different time lengths of meditation one can select from.

So far, I’ve completed several programs: 7 Days of Calm, 21 Days of Calm, 7 Days of Sleep (although I want to do this one again at night, before going to sleep), and 7 Days of Happiness. Currently, I am completing 7 Days of Gratitude. The isolated sessions I’ve tried have been on: Non-Judgment, Calming Anxiety, Calm, Body Scan, Deep Sleep, Deep Concentration, Loving-Kindness, and Confidence.

I have the paid subscription, that allows me to have full access to everything they put out, for a year. They constantly are launching new programs. Right now there’s a new one called 7 Days of Self-Esteem, which I’m probably trying up next.

I used to meditate on my own. In a quiet space, with a candle lit, concentrating on my breath, and letting thoughts come and quickly go on by. It was sometimes harder than others. I started with 5 minutes, and doing one-minute weekly increments, had gotten up to 20 minutes. It worked well for a while, until I stoppped doing it, and getting back on it, starting from 5 minutes again, seemed very hard. It was then that I discovered Calm, and have not looked back since (this was back in September 14th, 2015).

For me, meditation has a great deal of benefits. I not only enjoy it because it helps me concentrate on my breathing and as a result calm myself, but it definitely has helped me be more present in the day-to-day activities and interactions with others. It truly helps me be a calmer and overall happier person. When I don’t meditate regularly, I see the difference. Stress tends to build up and begins to take a toll on me, both physcially and emotionally.

In today’s session on Gratitude, the focus was on being more appreciative of ourselves. At the end of the session we were asked to write down 3 characterisc or abilities of ourselves, for which we are grateful. I jotted down: ability to be kind, compromise, and listen with interest to others. I obviously don’t portray those abilities 100%  of the time. But most likely than not, those would be good descriptors for me. I have an ability, or natural inclination, to be kind, compromise, and listen, and for that I am truly grateful.

Have you tried Calm? If you’re looking into meditating and feel it might be a bit daunting, or don’t know where to begin, I highly recommend this app. I have no affiliation to it, nor am I being paid to review it or recommend it. This is my own, honest opinion and thoughts, based on the experience I’ve had with Calm in the past 4 months. Try it, who knows? You might also benefit from centering yourself and adding a little positivity to your days.

2 responses to “Calm

  1. Te felicito por tomar tiempo para tu ser. Las ventajas de la meditación son infinitas y creo q lo mejor es q te enseña a vivir en el presente, q es lo único real. Creo q vas a tener q incorporar otra virtud a tu lista de escasas tres, q pudiste, y es la perseverancia. Se requiere mucha perseverancia para realizar esta actividad!!!! En horabuena.

Leave a Reply

