Dreams

I’ve been having these somewhat confusing dreams about wedding ceremonies gone wrong. In some of them I was the one getting married, and in others I was present at other people’s wedding. The commonality seemed to be that all the dreams had a lot of drama around them; drama about marrying the wrong person, or not wanting to get married and having to, for whatever reason. Mike says I’m getting cold feet. And it might as well be. I’ve always understood marriage to be HUGE commitment and as one ventures in, one has to comprise quite a lot; which might have been the reason I hadn’t really had the conviction of getting married before now. I take it seriously, too seriously perhaps, which could explain the nightmares.

Last night though, I had a different kind of dream. I was with Mike and some of my family, cousins, some friends too perhaps, and we were sorting something out, holding a discussion of some sort around something, that seemed to be banal, or at least from an outsiders perspective, it seemed trivial. And suddenly we hear this loud noise, we look back and this wave of people running, surrounded by bursts of fire, chaos, screaming and just complete mayhem was heading our way, like a tsunami taking over everything. In the dream, I quickly understood it as the end of the world, and the instinct was to run for dear life. In the dream, Mike took my hand and we started running away from this wave of madness that was taking over everything. I woke up, startled and a bit out of breath.

Japan-Tsunami

I’ve had chaotic dreams like this one before that turned out to be premonistic. So, I thought maybe if I shared this one, it wouldn’t happen. You know, like when you tell others your wishes they don’t come true, because you somehow jinxed them? Well, I thought, maybe if I shared this dream, I’d jinxed it too. So here it is. I have no desire for the world as we know it to end, not now and probably, not ever. The dream felt real in a way though, and it made me think about how if something like that happened right now, all our worries about petty little things would suddenly end, and shift to, literally running in order to stay alive. It gave me pause, for a minute there.

I do believe we, I, spend too much time consumed with the little things, the mundane, the material, the non-transcendental day-to-day aspects of life. But I don’t think we, I, need the world to go through such an awful event in order to gain perspective of what is truly important. Do you? Which is why I’m hoping this is not a premonistic dream, and just a wake-up call, to pay attention to the truly important things in life, for me: how we relate to and take care of our own and each others’ souls and spirit.

At the hair salon, the other day, I read in a Self magazine, an article by Deepak Chopra’s daughter Malaika. In it she shared her struggles to stay centered in what is truly important and how going back to meditating 10 minutes a day helped her gain back that perspective. I haven’t been meditating for quite some time now, and I think that was why reading that article rang so true for me. And now this dream, I think is trying to remind me to stay focus on what is meaningful in my soul’s experience in this life, and stop consuming myself with the minute, the mundane, and the inconsequential. Are you on that path? If so, how do you make sure you are taking care of your soul? I think I’m going to start meditating again. I can afford to invest 5 to 10 minutes a day on my soul; I definitely need it, look at all the signs!

2 responses to “Dreams

  1. Mi niña, todo esto me parece muy interesante, solo siento que a veces se convierta en pesadillas y perturbe tus sueños. Sin embargo, veo la virtud que tienes de poder ver debajo de ello y darte cuenta del mensaje tan significativo, de encaminarte hacia tu crecimiento espiritual y de otorgar valor, a lo que realmente tiene valor.
    Has esperado mucho este evento y estoy segura que llega en el momento indicado y con la Bendición de Dios. Disfrútalo sin miedo.
    Te quiero.
    Tu Maqui.

    • Creo que los sue~os que tiene que ver con bodas reflejan la incertidumbre que tengo de dar este paso, que para mi es significativo. El otro sue~o, el que me preocupa mas, creo que tiene que ver con desastres naturales… y justo hoy estamos de alerta de tornados en Chicago, con una tormenta que ha durado todo el dia…😦

Leave a Reply

