On losing weight

As you might have noticed from yesterday’s post, I am fat! And I’m not saying it to talk shop about myself, I am actually the fattest I have even been in my life, at least the heaviest. So I have made it my mission to lose this weight and get back into shape.

Part of this is my own fault, because truly, for the past two-three years I have literally eaten whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted (I feel totally guilty when I see the photos from Africa, #HONY has been posting lately). But also, there have been some thyroid issues, which helped put me over the edge weight-wise.

My primary physician prescribed Levothyroxine back in October of 2013, when I discovered through a blood test at the DP Health Fair, that I had Hypothyroidism. It’s been almost a year now, and I think finally we honed in the right dose, and my thyroid is slowly getting back to normal. I say this because I had decided to diet and control my weight-gain before, to no avail. I could have starved myself (I tried) and would lose no weight at all. Sometimes I even gained weight, which was strange and very frustrating.

But ever since we got back from vacation, it has been out for daily walks and jogs, and dieting. And I have lost 5 lbs in 6 days. Which is what my body used to do before, every time I started controlling what I ate. I’m not actually dieting, but I have cut out all sweets (only fruit and sugar-free gum are allowed) and have stopped eating between meals (this was actually killing me… I was over-eating out of anxiety and stress). My meals now consist of a small breakfast (usually a homemade smoothie), a regular meal for lunch (a sandwich, rice and chicken, maybe hotdogs, some fruit , etc), and then a small dinner (Cesar salad with chicken, crackers, cheese and cold cuts, fruit, nuts, and the sort). No potato chips, doritos, or peanuts mid-afternoon. No mini donuts, tequeños, pancakes or cinnamon buns for breakfast. No kit kats, twixs, double bubble, toblerone, or jaw breakers for snack. Nothing. Done.

I asked my sister to lend me her South Beach Diet book, because I intend to do it again. I’ve only done it once and it was hard, but it is effective in helping to lose the weight. Keeping it off is another story, because you can’t realistically South Beach it for life, at least I can’t. But I am determined to lose this weight, and so far, I am off to a great start.

I made an appointment with an endocrinologist and will be seeing him in October. My primary physician recommended a doctor, but when I looked her up it turned out she is only 36 years old, and I don’t know if this is just my bias, but I am not going to put my health in the hands of someone younger than me, at least not at this point in my life. So, I looked for a guy with over 30 years of experience and booked an appointment. I’ll let you know how that goes. Here’s to losing weight and getting back into shape!

Leave a Reply

