Hope you have a Sweet Easter

Did I tell you that I dropped sugar for Lent? I guess I haven’t because I have been MIA again. But yes, for Lent I decided to give up sugar, or more specifically, sugary treats, like: cake, chocolate, ice cream, cupcakes, candy, cookies, and the sort.

So, on Fat Tuesday, I stopped by the Swedish Bakery in Andersonville, and got myself a little loot of goodies.

A cupcake cookie:

2014-03-03 23.11.52

And a couple Paczkis:

2014-03-03 23.12.262014-03-03 23.12.54

All which I devoured quickly Tuesday afternoon, in preparation for 46 days of no sugar. Do you know what that meant for me? Yeah. HARD. So, we typically believe Lent is 40 days long. Well, as it turns out, it’s more like 46 days, since I didn’t know Sundays were off-days. If you don’t fast on Sundays, because they are days to celebrate, then it is 40 days, but I didn’t know that, so I went off sugar, cold turkey for the whole 46 days, from Ash Wednesday to the day before Easter.

It was hard. I craved sugar every day, until today, the day before Easter. I lost 5 lbs in the process, which is good, but I really think it should have been more. It was harder than just 5 lbs, and those pounds only came off during the last week… so yeah, hard.

But today is the day before Easter, so I went back to the Swedish Bakery and got some more goodies. This time I got another cookie, a tulip:

photo 3

Their version of black & white cookies (I didn’t know they made them outside NY):

photo 1

And a few truffles (red velvet, lemon and raspberry):

photo 4 photo 5

And Mike and I just finished licking our fingers, after finishing them all up. Tomorrow we will probably indulge in more goodies, as we are off to the suburbs to celebrate Easter with family.

Did you give up something for Lent? Did you do it for 40 days, or 46 days? In any case, it’s over, and tomorrow is Easter.

Happy Easter everyone. I hope it is filled with sweets!

Leave a Reply

