Travel Updates

Well, hello there! I have been MIA for a while, sorry. Since I finished the manuscript and turned it in to the editor a lot has happened. I flew to DC for the NAEYC conference, which was really worth while. I meet an interest forum group on Young Children’s Spirituality and rapidly joined them. I was thrilled to find out there was a group at NAEYC interested in spirituality. I volunteered to create a FB group for the forum, so if you’re interested you can join us here.

After my brief stay at DC, I flew to NYC to spend the weekend. I stayed at my sister’s place, so I got to spend some quality time with Nick and Soph. Liz and I chatted it up and got to spend time roaming Central Park, eating our favorite cookies at Levain Bakery and just hanging out. We took Sophie to the Natural History Museum, her favorite, and got to spend some time among the animals, the bones, and the rocks. Our favorites were the gems, there are some huge ones there, particularly a necklace with 90 carats worth of diamonds!

IMG_5042IMG_5043 IMG_5045 IMG_5046 IMG_5048 IMG_5049 IMG_5058 IMG_5062 IMG_5063 IMG_5067 IMG_5068 IMG_5069 IMG_5053 IMG_5059

I also got to see my good friend Ina, Joan and their little girl Greta. They came over to Liz’s place on Sunday, and we chatted it up. I left with them and spent the night at their place on Sunday. Ina and I stayed up chatting like the old days. In the morning Ina and Greta drove me to the airport and it was off back to Chicago. The trip was over and since I was coming down with what felt like a cold, I was glad to be flying back home to my own bed.

It’s nice to go on trips and see loved ones. But it’s so comforting to be home when we are not feeling all that great. I was glad to come back. That short trip was a good reminder of all I miss daily (the city, my family and my friends), but it was also a good way to help me appreciate what I have here, and with great timing too, right before Thanksgiving.

Leave a Reply

