Dusting off the VCR

We have had the perfect Fall weather in Chicago for the past 2 weeks, and I have fully taken advantage of it, at least in the mornings. It has been 60-70 °F and sunny, perfect I tell ‘ya! I have made it to the lake front for a walk and sometimes even a mild jog, for almost two consecutive weeks. Yesterday though, there was a forecast of rain, which never really came to my neck of the woods, but as I didn’t want to risk getting drench while walking (it has happened before), I decided to exercise at home instead.

I connected my old VCR/DVR player, dusted off my old yoga for weight loss tape, pulled out my yoga mat from the coat closet, and off I went for an hour long sessions of yoga by myself, in the comfort of my own living room.

Today I can feel my muscles in discomfort. It’s like they’re saying “What happened here? We were all cushiony and comfy just laying around doing nothing, and now this!?” Well, yes, you needed this, I needed this. And I feel great today, all achyness aside.

Between the extra weight I am carrying and the fact that it’s been almost a year since I did yoga, I could definitely notice all the limberness and flexibility I have lost. It’s going to take me a while to get to where I was before, hell it might take me years before I get to where I was in 2009. But I’m game. I’m whiling to take it on.

So from now on it’s walk/jog on days I can get myself outside, and indoor VCR yoga, on those it which the weather does not cooperate. The diet front is still on hold, but I’m hoping that by sweating a bit I will motivate myself to say no to the cupcake. Wish me luck!

2 responses to “Dusting off the VCR

  1. I wish you luck, especially in that all else aside, it is just good to feel good.🙂

Leave a Reply

