September 11

september11

Remembering September 11 still makes me sad. It’s been 12 years and I still cringe at the thought of it. The opening to my book’s chapter 1, begins with referencing  “past and recent terrorists attacks”, and then moves to the more currents threats of war and how killing others because we want to overpower them and impose our points of view, is at the root of not living a spiritual life (remember the topic of my book is children’s spirituality, so this is one of the ways I make a case for it).

We shall not forget. We shall be sad. We shall be angry. Yet we shall be better for getting up and moving on from this. But we shall also make headway in ensuring this never occurs again, not by defending ourselves and living in fear, but by making sure we do not nurture, as a society, those who could grow up to be terrorists and kill innocents in the name of an ideology.

September 11, may you give us the grounds and push we need to be better, and to create a better world for all.

2 responses to “September 11

  1. I remember watching TV, it was afternoon in Germany, and seeing the news with the first plane hitting the first building.
    I called for my Mom and Dad and told them a horrible accident had happened. When the second plane crashed.
    I was glued to the TV until I had to leave for a swim-date with colleagues from my holiday-job and we talked about this the whole evening. We listened to the news on the radio during our drive.
    It was and still is unbelievable.

    • I think everyone around the world can remember where they were and what they were doing when this happened. It was such a drastic, horrible event. I still get teary eyed when I think about it.

Leave a Reply

