First Week Back

I am back in the grind. This week started by me trying to update and catchup myself on everything: laundry, cleaning, mail, groceries, car wash/gas, a doctor’s appointment, unpacking my office and organizing everything. And yes, work, I did a little of that too.

I had bought tickets to see a Yankees – White Sox game on Tuesday, so Mike and the boys drove in after work, and off we went to see the game. Mariano Rivera, my favorite Yankee, was being honored by the Soxs that day, so it was kind of a treat to be there for it. The Yankees lost though. I don’t know if it’s me or what, but it feels like every game I attend, my rooting team loses; why is that?

Mike left on Wednesday morning, directly back to work, and the boys stayed with me. I’ve had them all week. They’ve been good, but Charlie has woken up at 6, 5:30 and 5 am each of the days he’s been here. If tomorrow he gets up at 4:30 I’ll have him sleep in the guest room; a girl needs to sleep!

The boys and I have gone out for long morning walks, short midday walks, and sort of long evening walks. I stayed home with them the first day, but then I had to head out to my office. I definitely work better there, less distractions. But I do love coming home to such an effusive greeting; I miss that when I’m by myself.

I’m trying to organize myself so that I don’t fall off the blogging wagon. I’ve been really good getting back into it in July, and would like to continue, but I know that as soon as I get back into work full-mode, blogging will suffer my absence, there’s just not enough time. I also am getting back into my Interests in Spirituality website. I want to revamp it, or at least keep it current with newer info and more spiritual blog posts. I actually have a couple I’ve been writing in my head for that blog. Have you checked it out? It might not be your cup of tea, or maybe it will, who knows.

Since time is always an issue, I’ve been thinking of establishing some sort of routine, when the boys are back at Mike’s. If I wake up earlyish, eat and get directly into writing, I could potentially commit myself to writing one post a day (either here or at jenmata.org). After that I could shower, get dressed and head out to work, to continue writing, but this time on the book and articles I need to finish. I don’t know if this will work for me, I’m not much of a morning person to begin with, and repetition and routines usually get on my nerves after a while and I tend to ditch them. But I guess it’s worth the try, we’ll see.  Do you blog? How do you do it? Do you have a routine or schedule?

Leave a Reply

