Happy Birthday Max!

Today is Maxy’s birthday, not that he knows, or cares for that matter, but still, he turns 4 today. I never imagined how much my day-to-day life would change when I decided to adopt Max. I had wanted a dog for the longest time and God knows I needed a companion in this, my new life in Chicago far away from everyone I know and care about. Sometimes, I think I’m brave because I am able to leave everything and everyone and move to far away places in which I know no one all by myself. Other times I think I’m insane for those same reasons. This time around I found myself very much alone in this new city, and the number one reason for getting Max was because I needed company. Little did I know I was going to get much more than just that.

Maxy, it’s been a ride, sometimes a happy ride (like every day when you greet me when I get home from work), others an infuriating one (like the time you ate my rug), but through it all, all the changes, the tummy aches, the indoor poops, the throw ups, and the early risings (every single day), I can’t imagine not having you in my life. You are my companion and my responsibility, you are there, always, and I thank you for that. My life is different now with you, but I wouldn’t have it any other way. I want to think it’s better with you, but even if it’s not, as independent as I am, I rather have you in it than go about it on my own.

Happy Birthday buddy, may there be many more together🙂

Leave a Reply

