Songs

“Apaguen la velas y piquen la torta
que la noche es corta, la fiesta está buena.
Y para celebrar por tu felicidad,
saquen una botella de ron que quiero tomar.
Y que este parrandón dure hasta la madruga’!”
 

Do you get songs stuck in your head? I do. All the time. And I go around signing them in my head, and sometimes even out loud. I think people must think I’m a little weird… well, I bet they do think that and it’s not just because of the signing 😉 In any case, the lyrics above have been stuck in my head for the past two days and it’s not even anyone’s birthday yet!

Before the birthday song it was this one:

“Si naciste sin corazón en el pecho,
tu no tienes la culpa de ser así.”
 

And before that one it was:

“And now you’re working in a bank
The family man, the football fan
and your name is Harry.
How dull it seems
Yet you’re the hero of my dreams.
I can still recall our last summer…”
 

Sometimes it’s because I just heard the song, it randomly came up in my iPod and now it randomly comes up in my head. But other times, I can’t explain it, it’s just a song, I probably haven’t heard in ages, but something prompts it and now I got it. Like, for example, playing draw something the other day, the word sheriff came up, and immediately I started signing “I killed the sheriff, but I did not kill the deputy” over and over again. And every time that word comes up, someone draws it, I sign that verse of the song.

Does this happen to you? Tell me please. Do hear or see words and are immediately transported to a song? I do. All the time. Just one word, and I’m stuck with the song for days. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

