Time flies

January is over. Wow, now that happened fast, didn’t it? I don’t know how this is happening, but I heard somewhere, and I’m beginning to believe it too, that time has actually shorten. Yeah, an hour is not, apparently, 60 minutes long any more. How this happened, I don’t know. What I do know is that I feel it and live it every day. There’s just not enough time, it flies by too quickly.

February starts tomorrow. And with it a few milestones start pouring in. In February it will be 1.5 years since I moved from NY to Chicago. It will be 7 months since I adopted Max and my life completely changed to suit his needs above mine. And it will be one year since Mike and I met and started dating. It seems like a lot, right? Well, it all happened fast, very fast.

I can’t believe I’ve been here a year and half already and that Mike and I have been together for an entire year. But then again, a year seems like nothing these days (see comment above time somehow shrinking). It doesn’t feel like a year and half, or a year, or even seven months. And yet I feel settled in here, and I know that feeling takes time to develop, so I kinda do believe all that time has passed after all.

I’ve been meaning to do a recap, sort of a comparison of my life now to my life then, but I’ll leave that for another post. For now, let me ask you this question, how do you experience time these days? Is it not enough? Or is it the same as it has always been? Would you believe somehow (and I know I should explain this in more detail, but for the life of me I can’t remember the original source) time has shrunk?

2 responses to “Time flies

  1. Oh man, I hear you… time flies! It seems to be getting worse every year. I read somewhere that the perception of time changes with age because a) there aren’t as many “firsts” anymore and b) proportionally with age, your life seems shorter (as a 1-year-old, you’ve only lived a fraction of a percentage of your life, while in your mid-30’s, you’re approaching the 50% mark.)
    It’s all a very weird concept, but an hour definitely doesn’t equal 60 minutes anymore.

Leave a Reply

