Without Max: Work!

Mike was kind enough to keep Maxy for the week. It occurred to me that if I wanted to get all the grading I had (and still have) pending done, I needed to work more hours, so dropping everything at 6:30pm to run home and walk Max before he decides he can’t hold it any longer and poops on the rug, was not really an option.

So this week, when I drove back home on Sunday, I left Max at Mike’s and he’s been there since. I’ve been able to work a lot longer days, coming back home at 9:30 – 10ish pm every day. I am wiped, but I have made a lot of progress in the grading department.

On Monday I woke up a little before 7am, as I would if Max was with me, and decided to go for a jog. I hadn’t noticed how much I have missed jogging and walking along the lake, listening to music and pumping the endorphins. I haven’t done that since I got Max about 4 months ago (actually exactly 4 months ago today). It felt great, it was really nice to be able to have that again. But I did that only on Monday, because the rest of the mornings have been sleep until 8am kind of mornings. I have missed that too. Ever since I got Max I get a sure wakeup call at 6:30am at the latest, every single day (weekends included), so sleeping until 8am three days in a row has been a blessing. Now, I knew I missed sleeping, but this week has just solidified that for me, and I am treasuring every single minute of it (literally, every extra minute I get to stay in bed).

I’ve missed Max though. I feel lonely at nights when I get home. There’s no one there to greet me and to urge me to take care of him. Because when you’re with Max, it’s ALL about him. This has reminded me why I got Max in the first place, and I do not regret it, lack of sleep, poop on the rug and all.

Friday afternoon I head back to Mike’s to see my boys, all of them. I truly have missed them, this week more than ever. Good thing I’m so swamped, I don’t have time to dwell in loneliness, I’m just too tired, I rather sleep.

Leave a Reply

