Weekend Update

I’ve been meaning to write since Monday, and now it’s Thursday and I still haven’t had time to do so. So, I was thinking, since I have a lot of posts in my head, I’ll date them as if I had written them the day I actually thought of them, ok? Ok!

The weekend was great. As you know Mike and I got back together and this weekend was filled with his family fun-time. His dad was coming in for the weekend and staying at Mike’s. Saturday, there was the Arlington Million race at Arlington Park Horse Track, and Mike had gotten tickets for all of us.

We picked up Mike’s brother and off the four of us went to the track. I had been in a horse track park before, but for the life of me I can’t remember when. It must have been too long ago, or my memory is fuzzy… I’m blaming it on old age.

Here are some of the photos I took. The weather turned nasty, and it rained a ton while we were there, so the pictures aren’t as great as they could have been.

After the track we went to grab a bite to eat and some drinks at Gordon Biersch Brewery. Mike and I had been there before, and the couple, friend’s of his that went with us had had their first date there and are soon to be moving in together, so it’s a place with positive vibes 😉 We had drinks, we talked, we ate, we laughed, and off home we went to walk the dogs before the rain caught up with us again.

On Sunday we took the dogs to the forest preserve and the dog park. They ran, and played, and Max got a chance to socialize a bit. Other dogs, while he’s on the leash, are still a big problem, but off the leash, at the dog park, he does ok.

After the dog park and lunch, Mike’s brother and his girlfriend were having a party. They’re pregnant and were having a gender reveal party. Have you heard of this? I read something and saw a video a few months back, apparently it’s a new trend. The doctor gives the parents the baby’s gender in an envelope, they then take it to a baker who reads the baby’s gender and bakes a cake accordingly. It’s not until the party, when the parents cut the cake, that they find out, in front of everyone there, what the baby will be.

And, it’s a girl!! 🙂

At the party I got to play bags with Mike’s nephews. Have you ever played bags? It was the first time for me, and me and by 8-year-old team-mate won the game!At night we chilled out in front of the TV and Max and I drove back into the city Monday morning. It was a great weekend, fun, relaxing and very easy-going, as all weekends should be.

2 responses to “Weekend Update

  1. Sounds like the perfect weekend to me. 🙂

Leave a Reply

