Max

I had been looking for a dog to adopt for some weeks now. I wanted to get a small-apartment dog ever since I moved to NYC the second time around, but being a student with lack of funds and traveling a lot back and forth to Venezuela, I decided against it.

Now that I seem a little more settled, and I’m quite lonely in what my granny deems “living, sooo far away”, I thought it would be a good thing to act on a long awaited desire. So I started checking websites several times a day: PAWS Chicago, the Anti-Cruelty Society, Pet Finder and even Craigs List.  But I was having no luck. Every time I found a dog I liked, he was already being considered for adoption by the time I got to the shelter.

I was starting to lose hope, until I got an email from a lady who said a friend of hers from Pet Finders had read my post of wanting a dog, and thought she might have a good fit. Her daughter had bought this dog as a puppy, from a pet store, and had kept him since he was 3 months, he is 3 years old now. The daughter had moved away, had a baby, couldn’t keep the dog, and the parents now traveled too often and were having to board him way too much, so they were looking to re-home him.

I was excited because he is a Silky Terrier, a breed I’ve been wanting since I was in college, and not a puppy, I don’t think I have it in me right now to train a puppy. So off I went to meet him and see if we were a good fit.

It turns out we were, or at least I fell in love as soon as I saw him. He was actually busy smelling things, and barking at dogs to really take in all that was going on. The lady handed over all his things, told me all his stories, and off we went.

And here he is, this is Max, isn’t he a cutie?

P.S. Don’t you worry that I already changed that Packers name tag for a silver shaped bone, with his name and my phone number. And soon he will be sporting some kind of Yankees memorabilia, because in this family we are Yankees’ fans!

6 responses to “Max

  1. He is sooooo adorable.

  2. He’s gorgeous! Congrats!

  3. Oh, he’s a cutie! So happy for you 🙂

Leave a Reply

