Summer

The past two days have been filled with emotions, the sad kind. I think I’ve cried enough to get me through December. I usually don’t cry this much or at all,  so this is a bit out of character for me. But ever since I moved to Chicago (I’m blaming it on homesickness, if not, it’s just plain old age) I’m quick with the tearing eye, and the wearing my heart on my sleeve. But enough, I say, enough.

Yesterday was the first day of summer, the summer solstice. And summer, of all seasons, needs to be celebrated, needs to be welcomed with open arms and needs some planning to ensure one enjoys it to the max.

I need to work a ton this summer, to make up for all the writing I didn’t do during the academic year. But I also have some summer goals like:

  1. Go to the beach
  2. Finish my package of yoga classes
  3. Eat lots and lots of ice cream
  4. Read some books for fun (I already bought one last week, if you have any you love, shoot me an email or leave a comment with the title)
  5. Spend time outdoors
  6. Get to know a little more of Chicago (maybe a city tour, another museum or the zoo), and
  7. Go see a game at Wrigley Field
Do you have summer plans? Care to share? May anything you set your mind to do be done with fun and laughter, and just for good measure, a mojito or two. Cheers!

4 responses to “Summer

  1. I should have summer goals and plans, but I’m feeling very go-with-the-flow at the moment. We’ll see how that works out. 🙂 I’d for sure go to the beach and to a game at Wrigley with you though!

  2. I went on the architecture boat tour of Chicago when I visited and found it thoroughly fascinating. If you haven’t done it, try that!

    My plans for the summer are pretty loose- go on lots of picnics, see some Shakespeare in the park, spend a week at the beach.

    • It is definitely on my list of to-dos in Chicago. I didn’t get to it last summer, so hopefully this summer I’ll do it.

      Sounds splendid… picnics and a week at the beach, I need to do that too!

Leave a Reply

