Remembering and Embracing

The one year mark of my breakup with Jason passed this month. In fact, I was traveling to Prague the day of the anniversary. I think I thought about it before the day and then after it, but I don’t recall thinking about it on the particular day of. I’ve been meaning to write about it, not because I want to immortalize or celebrate the date, but because I want to highlight how different my life is now than it was then, just a mere year ago.

The last time I was in NYC, for Thanksgiving, I met with Jason and we did the kind of fun-stuff-around-the-city we used to do when we were together, in fact we ended going to dinner to the same restaurant we had gone to for Valentine’s Day last year. It seemed all very familiar, very comfortable, like nothing had changed, and yet so much had changed by then.

I remember during our conversation he blurted something along the lines of “It would have never worked… besides, I was NOT going to move to Chicago!” I remember this caught me by surprised because one of the main reasons I decided to move to Chicago (aside for the great job opportunity) was because he and I were not together any more. If we had been together, I probably would have not taken the job and would have not moved. I would have found a way to stay in NYC, to stay close to him. Funny how he didn’t know this. I was not going to ask him to move with me, I was going to stay with him.

Can you imagine what my life would be now if I had stayed in NYC? Do you see all that I would have missed out on if I hadn’t decided to take this job and moved here? I would not live in a great, somewhat quiet (quieter than 1st and 93rd for sure) neighborhood, I would not have this awesome job, which I love every day more and more, I would not had been expose to Chicago and its people (truly nice, open people), I would not have a car (have I mentioned how much I love my car?), I wouldn’t have met Mike who is such a sweetie, or any of the other great people I’ve had the pleasure to meet here.

My life would be completely different than it is now. Would it be the same as it was before? Probably not, but it wouldn’t be the way it is now either, and I kinda love what I have in my life now, thank you very much 😉

So there you have it, change with all it’s heartache and uncertainties can be a very good thing. We just need to remember that and then embrace change for all it has to offer us. Because sometimes, sometimes we can be pleasantly surprised.

4 responses to “Remembering and Embracing

  1. Thanks for sharing! It’s nice to be reminded that in tough times, we have to have faith that things CAN and WILL get better… just have to give it time.
    So glad life in Chicago agrees with you. You sound like you are doing great!

  2. I had to comment on this… I am on the initial phase after the break-up and even though my life is not quite what I want it to be and have my struggles I do appreciate the blessings of my new life. Change is good and usually when stuff like this happens, it really needed to happen.

    It is good to look back and smile knowing that is was the right decison to make and love your present even if your still working on building it up to what ideally you would like it to be. Sometimes it is just best to let go and go with the flow!

  3. This is a great post, Jen. Hopeful. Happy. Positive.

Leave a Reply

