Happy and Lent

Well, that was a great weekend. I found myself going to work Monday morning with a big smile on my face. I’m usually a pretty happy person and I tend to smile a lot, but last week’s tiff with my students got to me, and I then proceeded to spend the following two and a half days “out of it” emotionally. I was upset. I needed to process it and I did. And the weekend definitely helped. So when Monday rolled around and I had to face the tiffed-students I was fine with it.

What was so great about my weekend you ask? Well, a few things actually. My Saturday class always brightens my days. That group is really good, and not because they are all A students, which they are not, but because they are passionate, they love to engage in discussion around topics on education and they have strong opinions based on both experiences and new knowledge from the readings and discussions we’ve been having. They are open minded and are avid to learn. I love them, truly do, they make my day every Saturday.

After class, the guy I’m dating (I’ve written about him before, remember?) came over with his dog Charley to visit. It was fun, mellow, easy going and all very sweet. I loved having them over and enjoyed their company tons. I’m not going to get into details here. I think this time around I’ll just leave my relationship a bit more private than I have done in the past. I’m not sure why I feel I want to do this, nothing really has happened to make me not want to share details here, but for some reason I feel like I need to protect this somehow… maybe what I need to protect is me, I’m not sure. But suffice it to say, it was great and I’m happy.

So moving on to other things, today is Fat Tuesday (carnaval in most other parts of the world) and tomorrow, Ash Wednesday, which is the beginning of Lent. Lent, I’ve been thinking about what to give up or take on for Lent. Up until know I’m high and dry. I have no idea of what to do for Lent, and I really do want to do something.

Last year I took on meditation. The year before that, I took on exercising 5 times a week. The year before that, I stopped eating sugary things (this was HARD). The year before that, it was chocolate what I gave up. This year, I really don’t know.

I guess I could take on meditation again. Exercising is definitely a no go, I go to yoga once a week (what my schedule and budget allows for) and that’s about it, until the weather gets better and I can start jogging/walking again. I don’t have the gym on my roof top anymore and there is no money in my budget for a gym membership. So exercising 5 days a week is out of the question.

What to do? Hmmm. What to do? Do you have any brilliant ideas? Please share.

4 responses to “Happy and Lent

  1. Hola JeJi,
    Chocoloate and any processed sugary stuff are a tradition for me, since I LOVE chocolate, not being able to enjoy it gives me a few brownie points with the man updstairs!

    How about volunteering once a week? That way you can do good and be good!

    Happy you’re happy…. xoxo

    • Luisa!
      That’s a great idea. I had actually wanted to look into volunteering, although I yet need to figure out where I’ll get the time from…
      I’m happy you stopped by here 🙂
      Besitos!!!

  2. I always check in to see what you are up to! I like how you write and tell your stories….

    Un besote, LFBK

Leave a Reply

