On the SOTU

I’m not too into politics in this country, especially since I can’t vote… that’s sort of sad isn’t it? To live in country in which one cannot vote, alas, it is what it is (let’s not go there, it’s kind of a touchy subject for me). In any case, I do follow the news, so whatever is on the table, I usually have heard of, seen, or read about. I do watch the State of the Union (SOTU) addresses to keep myself informed. I remember watching these even when I lived in Caracas. Whereas, “Alo presidente” I could not stand for more than a few minutes, it literally made me sick to my stomach.

Last Wednesday’s SOTU was inspiring to me. As an educator there is no greater satisfaction than hearing the president of the country one lives in refer to education as the saving grace of the nation. Favorite quotes from SOTU:

“Become a teacher, your country needs you.”

“We cannot tolerate mediocre teachers.”

“We need to have high expectations if we want our students to succeed.”

“Show us quality education and we’ll show you the money.”

“Cutting back on education in this financial situation would be like trying to lighten the weight of a plane by throwing out it’s engine.”

I’m not a democrat. I don’t consider myself a republican either. But I do like Obama. He is one of the good ones. And as my sister says, he tries,

2 responses to “On the SOTU

  1. I know… it sucks to live in a country when you can not vote, but are affected by the day to day politics.
    I listened to the SOTU, too, and I thought it was inspiring.

Leave a Reply

