Back in the game and on top of it

Well, I’m back in the swing of things. Classes started again last Monday and this quarter I have class Monday, Wednesday and Saturday. That meant that my first day back at work I had my first class as well. All good. I love the course I’m teaching this quarter which is Teaching Strategies for Preschool Children. It’s miss-named because it actually spans all through early childhood, which is 0 to age 8, so we talk about teaching infants up to third graders, and how to better meet their needs. I have two sections of the same class, with two very different populations, hence the Saturday morning class, the up-side is that since it’s just one course, there is is just one prep to make, versus two, which I had last term.

I’ve started the year with a mission. Not a resolution per se, but more of a to-do list that had been pending since I moved. I was stressing about it, but then figured I’d cut myself some slack and adapt to all the changes in my life, and then, once ok with it all, concentrate on the to-do list. The list entails a lot of different things pending, but primarily focuses on getting my act together with diet and exercise, and balancing my time in a way I can do fun stuff along all the work stuff. So far things are on track.

I got in on Monday, prepped, taught and then focused on making all the appointments for pending things like: bikini waxing, a facial and a massage. Yes, pampering is on the list too. I did say fun stuff, remember? I’ve been using Groupon, which if you have not discovered yet, you have to check it out. It’s the bomb. Really, great deals of things that interest you, sent your way daily? How great is that?

I also focused a bit on exercising and finally nailed down a more advanced yoga class within a schedule I could attend, and went! I’m back at yoga people! The class was great, because not only is the instructor very enthusiastic and helpful, but it’s Vinyasa level 2-3, meaning a bit more challenging and just what I was in need of. I had checked out some of the beginner classes, just because they were offered in schedules that suited me, and they were nice, not great, just nice, mostly because I got a bit bored. This more advanced class was just what I needed. I did my first assisted and then non-assisted head stand! I realized my core is not fit at all (of course!) and I need to develop some abs urgently.

On the health track, I also started a detox-colon cleansing program. It stretches for 14 days and involves a powder mixed with water, twice a day (before breakfast and before dinner) and then some pills with the meals. So far it’s working well. I’m in the bathroom more than I would like to be, but at least it’s for a good cause 😉

I also started dieting. I had been eating my way through stressful and non-stressful situations in the past months. After I got back from Miami I weighed myself and realized I had gained a whooping 8 lbs since I moved to Chicago last summer, and back then I was over my desired weight to begin with. So matters needed to be taken into hands, and they were. As I started the detox I started a diet as well. It’s not much of diet in the sense that I’m not following any prescribed diet. I just eat less, way less. I have breakfast as usual (yogurt, fruit, milk), have my usual sandwich and fruit for lunch, and then have cheese, sliced turkey/chicken with crackers for dinner. No eating between meals, no snacking, no junk food. I allow myself a sweet treat after lunch and dinner, which consists of one jolly rancher or one piece of my late addiction, double bubble gum. But that is it. So far I have lost 5 lbs, so I guess it is working. The goal is to get to 125 lbs again. I have no real time deadline, so if it takes a little time, it’s ok. last time it took 3 months, that was the goal, I’m thinking this time it might be similar.

So there you have it. Do have this together or what? I’m happy to be starting the year so organized, focused, and in control of all the to-dos pending. I will keep you posted, change is to come! 🙂

6 responses to “Back in the game and on top of it

  1. I recently did my first headstand too! I was soooooo excited!!

  2. Sounds like you’ve wasted no time this new year getting on track for a great 2011. If only I could stick to that eating plan, maybe then I’d lose my baby weight, too! =)

    BTW, if you’re looking for a really challenging yoga class, I know of a great studio that offers Baptiste Vinyasa classes … i.e., Vinyasa yoga in a 100 degree room. =)

    • You know, I can easily and rapidly fall into an “eat anything I want” mode and things get out of hand fast. But it never ceases to amaze me, how once I truly, seriously decide “this is it!” and commit myself to eating little portions and no junk food, I can as easily do that and stick to it with determination and will power. I think that once we set our minds to it, we can do aything. The mind is incredibly powerful if we let it. So far, the whole thing is working for me, so I’m happy.
      I’ve been meaning to try hot yoga… we’ll see. Right now the issue is also time, so this place, walking distance from home, is working out.

  3. Wow, you’re determined, lady. Good for you! 🙂

    (How tall are you? Just wondering since 125lbs. is your goal weight.)

    • Yep, I’m all over this health-weight loss thing! 🙂
      I’m 5.4″ or AKA 1.63 mts. My ideal weight is around 120 lbs or a little less, but I think I look a little too drawn in when I’m that skinny and it is almost impossible to sustain for a long period of time, I do like my sweets! 😉

Leave a Reply

