Starting it off on a good foot

I guess I got inspired by Sizzle’s post when I read it this weekend. I’ve been slacking on the exercising/health front. I’ve been eating terribly; junk food and frozen dinners are my go-to foods these days, fruits and veggies are practically nonexistent, except for the occasional grapes. I started meditating again and it lasted two weeks, then life got in the way and I dropped the ball. Yoga, although one of my loves, is a rare thing in my life these days. I went last weekend, but didn’t this one, so it’s hit or miss, when at all.

The thing with exercising is that it’s a bit more challenging now that I don’t have the gym up on the 33th floor of my building any more. And yoga, well, classes are at night time and once that time of day hits (I’m usually at the office), I just want to go home, eat and veg in front of the TV. I, like Sizzle, like to exercise in the morning, get it out of the way early, and help, with it, get the day jumped started with an energetic note.

I like to jog and jogging outside is the best. It’s free, I can do it any time I want, I can go anywhere I like and for as long I decide to. The thing with outside jogging is that it is weather dependent. I really don’t like freezing my ass off while I try to get some cardio in, or suffocating myself almost to death, by trying to bare the sun, heat and humidity. I’m not one of those people who jogs no matter what and who has gear for all weather. I just have one gear, the comfy, around 70s, gear.

This morning it was around 50s, not 70s, but still nice to go out. I set my alarm and after fighting it for almost half an hour, I got myself into gear and out the door.  It’s just one day away from my 38th birthday, so I thought, I better get on it. I’m not getting any younger and as we get older, we all know, it gets harder to lose weight and stay in shape.

Off I went, to jog along Michigan Lake and since I had my iPhone with me, I could take some shots to share. It’s actually very pretty out there and on a good day, the pictures can be breathtaking (these are not, but bare with me, will you?).

Starting off… a little blurry.
The sun peaking through the leafless trees.
Out there, somewhere… It really wasn’t as dark as it looks here.
The park.
And the city.

There you have it. Not a bad way to kick off a Monday work week, huh? And this is not only my birthday week, but my sister is flying in tonight for work and staying through Wednesday, so that means that tomorrow’s birthday dinner will be celebrated with family 🙂 AND… who is going to NYC on Friday? Yep, that would be me!!! It will be a good week, a very, very good week.

6 responses to “Starting it off on a good foot

  1. Hey, you got this week of to a very good start, I’d say. And you have some fun stuff coming up… I am excited for you!

  2. Happy birthday week!

    I did a little yoga before meditating this morning. I’m still trying to work it out. It’s so dark and stormy out that going out for a walk sounds totally unappealing. But we have to prioritize ourselves! Good for you for doing so.

    • 🙂 Thanks!
      I need to get back to my meditation in the mornings and to regular yoga classes too, even if it is only once a week. I bought a pass for 5 classes last week, so as soon as I get it I’ll get my butt in gear.
      It’s hard to get started, but the benefits are so many, it’s totally worth it, and you are doing it!

  3. You went running! Yeaaaahhhhh!

Leave a Reply

