Academia

My new job really took off this week. Monday and Tuesday were full days of orientation, which ended with a very fancy Italian dinner for all new faculty. Wednesday was work and meetings and then my parents flew in from NYC and I spent the afternoon with them. Thursday was convocation day, very fancy lunch and then work until 7 pm. And tomorrow Friday I have a Open Lab workshop to get to know the new platform we’ll be using for the online part of our courses and class prep in the afternoon because classes start next Tuesday, right after Labor Day.

I knew my addiction to twitter, FB, blogging and all social media related interfaces would come to a hault once I started working. I knew there would be no slow weaning off process. But I didn’t realize it would start this week. You know what though? As much as I’ve enjoyed social media and all the friends I’ve made through it, I am enjoying my new job 100 times more. I am doing what I love to do again! After almost 6 years of a hiatus because of the doctoral program, I come back to academia as faculty and I am loving every single minute of it.

Today sitting, listening to the motivational speech at convocation, I thought to myself as I looked around the room, this is it, this is my life, this is what I am, an academic. It felt good. It felt like coming home. It feels just as good as it felt to work at Universidad Metropolitana, but now in English. I love it. I love my job!

8 responses to “Academia

  1. As much as I hope you will keep blogging (just on a less regular basis), I am thrilled to hear that you’re so happy with what you do! Not too many people can say that!

  2. I think I will definitely find time for blogging. I started this blog in 2005 and got fully into it since 2006. I don’t think it will die anytime soon. Keeping my fingers crossed! 😉

  3. This makes me so excited to hear you’re excited and enthralled and eager about your position here. It’s a big month for you! If needed, we can reschedule our meet-up next week … I have a feeling life might be a little crazy for you!

    • I have a feeling it will too. Yesterday I left work at 7 and today at 8. But I think it’s also the beginning and the prep period, so I’m hoping it won’t always be like this. Up until now, we are still on for Thursday. Can’t wait to “see” the grasshopper! 🙂

  4. It’s wonderful to hear you’re excited!

  5. Congratulations, professor! I sometimes think that if I ever get a real job, I'll miss blogging and reading blogs and commenting, but I have the feeling that if I really love what I do, all that will cease to matter.

  6. Kate – I am loving my new job and everything it entails, but I do have significant less free time to FB, blog and tweet, which I miss. I'm trying to find a way to not completely disappear from the social media scene just because I'm living my professional dream. Lets see how it goes.

Leave a Reply

