As promised…

… my new home, now furnished. Or also known as the after shots.
The entrance
I want to hang all my black and white photos here, but they are somewhere in between Venezuela and Miami at the moment, so that will have to wait.
The Bedroom
The bedroom is missing some artwork on top of the bed frame and an urgently needed flat screen TV on the wall across from the bed. All to come, hopefully soon.
The Bathroom
Artwork is also missing in the bathroom, but since the storage space under the sink is packed, I was thinking I might need some shelves first.
The Living Room
The Book Corner
Where will I put the 25 book boxes on their way over from Venezuela you ask? I have no idea. But we will cross that bridge when we come to it.
The Music Corner
Thank God I never ventured to learn to play the piano, because where would I have fit that?
The Files/Papers/Mail Corner
The Booze Corner
The best perk of the place
The Dining Room
And the Kitchen
So there you have it. My new home, which started out like this and is now completely unpacked and furnished.

16 responses to “As promised…

  1. Lady, it is BEAUTIFUL!!! You did a great job! It must be lovely coming home to this space.

  2. I love it! Such charm with the built ins and push up windows. Totally envious of how much space you have.

    Maybe you can add those books to the top of the dining room cabinets? Or install some shelving above the living room windows? We’re having a similar problem in our place- where to fit all the books.

    I hope you love Chicago. It’s a fantastic city.

    • It’s a 1920s building, so it does have that vintage feel to it. I love the windows too, it makes me feel like I’m living in another era, but still have internet! 😉

      Those are great ideas, thanks! I’m going to see how many books I can fit in my office, because most of my books are ones I would be using at work. If I still need more shelves then above the cabinets or the windows it is!

      So far, I’m loving Chicago. It’s so quiet it’s almost unbelievable!

  3. Wow!!! I can’t believe you put your place together so quickly and so beautifully! I tend to unpack for months and months, living out of boxes until everything has been used and put away. You are such a grown up. Enjoy your new home!

    • Thanks! I worked nonstop until it was done. Still have some things pending like the living room curtains, the TV and some plants, but I am happy with the results thus far. I would go crazy living out of boxes for too long, two days was more than enough for me!

  4. hum… a ver, a ver, ¿dónde está el cuarto de invitados? jejejeje…es broma ;0)…me encanta!, sobre todo la vista de los árboles que tienes desde las ventanas de la sala…en otoño y nevado se deben ver espectacular!…que lo disfrutes!, besos.

    • La verdad es que cuando yo empece a buscar apartamento estaba buscando uno de 2 habitaciones, especificamente porque queria un cuarto de huespedes. Pero bueno, encontre este y los invitados tendran que seguir durmiendo en el sofa-cama en la sala. Estan mas que bienvenidisimo cuando quieran pasarse unos dias en Chicago Maraca, mi casa es tu casa! 🙂

  5. Wow! Your place is absolutely amazing and I love what you did with ! The wall colors are wonderful and you have SO MUCH SPACE!

    Just lovely, really! I’m jelous 😉

    • Thank you! It does feel very spacious, especially since it’s just me here. My apartment in NYC was also a one bedroom, but definitely smaller. I really like this space 🙂

  6. Amiga, bello tu apartamento, me encantan todas las ventanas! Looks like a lovely home, we are so happy for you! xxxooo

  7. OMG, I love this place. The living room is great!! The windows are the best.
    Came over to you from San’s Blog by the way. 🙂
    Greetings from Germany!

  8. It's lovely, my friend. Just lovely and light and airy and you have steam heat! That is AWESOME!

  9. Kate – Thank you! It's changed a bit in the past couple weeks. I have new additions I'll post as soon as I can breathe again 😉

Leave a Reply

