In my head

Walking from the West to the East side in midtown, while I approach Bryant Park, this is what’s going through my head:

“Ah, Bryant Park, such a nice place. I’m going to miss this place. It reminds me of that guy I met here once… wait was it one guy or two? Did I have two first dates in this park? Wait, I can’t remember? There was that guy who I met for a drink in a bar close by, he was a bit of a jerk, but I’m sure there was another guy who I met at one of the bars here in the park… but didn’t we sit on the grass too… he was Irish, I think… was he cute? I can’t seem to remember his face. I remember this dark hair, dark eyes guy… but that doesn’t seem Irish. There must have been another guy, another first date here. I can’t believe I can’t remember! I wonder if everyone remembers all the first dates they’ve ever had… I need to ask people that. Mental Note. Or maybe it’s just me. Maybe I’ve had too many first dates… Maybe I’m losing my memory… Maybe they just weren’t that relevant… well, obviously they weren’t if I can’t even remember them! Wait. The dark hair guy, I met at the park and then we walked over to get drinks at Jamba Juice. Yeah, that’s it! And then we came to the park and sat and talked and talked. He was nice. What was his name? Well, now I’m pushing it, how am I supposed to remember his name? The other guy was the Irish guy. We met at the bar, he was doing the NY Times crossword puzzle while waiting for me. My god, am I really always late? Nah, I don’t think I was truly late that time… maybe he was early or somehting…anyhow, what was his name? Patrick? Christopher? Something Irish sounding. Well, I’m not gonna remember that. My memory is truly going, it’s just not what it used to be. Was it ever that good to begin with? Yeah, it must have been at some point. Or maybe I just remember the relevant stuff. Or maybe I do go out on too many first dates… whatever, I’m sitting here and enjoying the view. Ah, Bryant Park. I’m going to miss this place…”

Do you do this too? Say yes. Please. Tell me your in your head, talking to yourself as much as I am. Please. I’m not crazy, right? Right?! And while you’re at it, do you remember all your first dates? Because, apparently I can’t seem to get them straight.

Leave a Reply

