Trinity Church

Today I needed to get up early and head down to Wall Street to run some errands for my dad. While there, I had some time to kill and walked over to Trinity Church to hang out in it’s cemetery, of all places.

Trinity’s cemetery is different though, it’s more like a park these days than a place for the dead to rest. People from all around come here, sit at the benches and eat their lunches, talk on their phones and read their newspapers. Even children are brought by from a near by preschool to play around in the gardens. It’s odd, when you think about it, but I guess it works for them.

I find cemeteries, even this one which has a non-cemetery feel to it, alluring. They are mysterious and usually quiet, a place to reflect if you will. This one is one of the oldest in NYC, so the tumbstones are quite interesting. I was surprised though to see how many children were burried here. I saw one 84 year old woman and a 62 year old man, but the rest were people in their 30s, mostly women and kids, babies in some cases. It startled me a bit, but I guess back then, in the 1700-1800s, lack of medicine and technology made it difficult  for sick little kids to make it. Still, it felt a little sad that their lives were so short lived…

After a while it started drizzling and I headed inside. I figured a little prayer and reflection could be just what I needed while stepping out of the rain for a bit.

 Isn’t it beautiful. There’s something about churches that settles me, centers me and gives me peace, not that I needed at this particular moment, but I would further on in the day (little did I know then, but that’s a post to come) and getting it then, was perfect.

4 responses to “Trinity Church

  1. Otro rincón en NYC, otro lleno de magia… I miss my life in NYC…

  2. Mond – I've been thinking about how much I'll miss NYC as I roam it's streets and say my goodbyes. But I've also been thinking about how every and any place can be magical if we just choose to see it that way…. at least that's what I keep telling myself 😉

  3. Sounds like a place I'd really like to have some quiet time.

Leave a Reply

