Weekend Update

This weekend was totally relaxed. I stayed home most of it and mainly in my PJs. Time just flew by, I guess I really needed the me time at home.

I did go out Friday night though. Liz and I went to see God of Carnage. It’s a new play on Broadway about two NYC couples getting together to talk about and settle a quarrel between their two sons. The play has it’s ups as tension grows and it peaks when everyone, in their own way, loses it pretty much, after ingesting what seemed as a pretty much needed drink.

Liz loved it, she says she could identify with what they were going through as a NYC mom. I thought it was over acted at some points and little too on the “this would never happen in real life” side. It’s supposed to be a comedy, but I didn’t find it all that funny, as I said it had it’s ups, but overall I didn’t love it.

The cast was great though. Lucy Lui, Jeff Daniels, Dylan Baker and Janet McTeer were all very good. But as I said before it did seemed a little too much at points. I think of the four, the one I liked the most, acting wise, was Dylan Baker, he just seem believable in his role, more so than the rest. I wonder if I would have liked it more with the original cast.

After the theater we went for dinner at a Bazilian Churrasqueria and had flank steak. I don’t quite know what’s gotten into me, but I am craving red meat. You’d think I’d be craving lighter food in the summer, but no. Maybe I just need the protein, God knows I don’t do much cooking at all these days and live off bread, pasta and cheese. A little red meat craving can’t hurt, right?

On the moving front, I have made some progress. I have the three quotes I need from three different moving companies. I have contacted brokers in Chicago to help with the apartment search and talked to the program director, I guess she’s somewhat my boss, at least administratively, not academically, to see which course I will be teaching next term. This university works in quarters and not semesters, something I still need to get use to. Things are a-rolling. As my friend Mary said on FB the other day “it’s happening!”, yep, it’s happening people and I am very excited about it!

6 responses to “Weekend Update

  1. Chica, let me know if you want me to connect you to a friend of mine from my time in NY. She lives in Chi-town and is suuper nice.

  2. Didn't God of Carnage win a Tony (or many) last year? The name rings a bell…Also, don't forget to use me as a sounding board regarding new homes … I'd be happy to share my thoughts on location, amenities, etc.

    • It did, it has gotten excellent reviews and its cast has been excellent too. I don’t know, I think it just didn’t resonate with me, but it is pretty good.
      Thank you Nilsa, I just contacted a broker who is helping me look into both possibilities (renting and buying) to see which one is the best for me. I’ll let you know when I start having options of places to choose from, to get your input. Thanks!

  3. Yes! It is indeed, HAPPENING!

Leave a Reply

