Things To Do

I’m feeling a little bit without purpose right now. After finishing the dissertation and passing the heap of the graduation and having my family in town, I now feel as though I’m coming down from the high and have nothing quite set to do. I feel like there is a ton to do though: find quotes for the move, prep the move, find an apartment in Chicago, buy a car, etc, but that’s not happening until August and it’s still May, and it’s too soon to get that organized. ARGH! I want to do it now!

I have the Dublin conference coming up and need to organize that. Buy the ticket, book the room and finish the paper I’m presenting. But for some reason that doesn’t feel as urgent. The conference is in June, so I kind of have to get on it, yet my mind is somewhere else. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I’ve been wanting to go to Ireland for the longest time and I’m thrilled I’ll get to take pictures of all the green scenery. But for some reason that doesn’t seem to be on my immediate radar.

This month is actually the time I have to enjoy NYC in it’s last hurrah. The weather is sort of nice, when it’s not raining or way too hot, so this is my time to take advantage of what the city has to offer. I have a list going on, of places I want to go to again, or for the first time, before I leave. On my list:

The Guggenheim Museum
The MoMA
The MET
The New Museum (I’ve never been)
The new Yankee Stadium
The new Mets Stadium (maybe)
The Cloisters (I’ve always wanted to go here and haven’t)
Central Park (again and again)
SoHo Art Galleries on a Sunday

And I guess anything that comes up as a special summer thing, which the city is usually filled with. Do you have places you would be dying to see if you were me? Places you would not want to leave without doing? Let me know and I’ll add them to my list.

Of course there’s also the meeting friends and doing things with them for the last time before I go. So on my summer list there are a ton of lunches, dinners, drinks, get-togethers with people I know I won’t be seeing again anytime soon 😦 I know, kind of melodramatic, yet somewhat true.

Ok, I’m off to one of those lunches right now. So keep me posted on what I need to add, I wouldn’t want to go and realize I missed something great 😉

2 responses to “Things To Do

  1. Oh! Oh! Oh! If you make it to The Cloisters, there better be some awesome photographs – it's another place I've always wanted to go!

  2. You should come, we could together!!!!

Leave a Reply

