Letting Go

“Most of our troubles are due to our passionate desire for and attachment to things that we misapprehend as enduring entities.” ~Dalai Lama

On our last yoga class of the semester last week, Patrick shared with us something his yoga teacher shared with him. He wanted us to declare that class’ intention and not guide it for us, as he usually does. He wanted, since it was the last class, to leave it open and have each of us declare our intention as we needed or saw fit. I declared to be present and happy, to enjoy everything I do as if there is no future, but only “now”. But at the end of the class, he gave us as a last thought what his teacher had shared with him: “Fully show up for everything you do, give it your best and allow your best to be enough. Once you are done, let it go and walk away.”

It hit home for me, as did this quote from the Dalai Lama. There is so much I need to let go off this summer: Jason, TC, New York, my apartment, my family in NY, my life style, my student status.

The people are what I will miss the most, this I know. But NYC has been my home for over 5 years now and 3 before this. I love NY. It will be hard. But I need to know I enjoyed every minute of it. I gave it my best and got the best in return and now it’s ok to walk away, it’s time, and everything will be ok.

I feel like everything around me is insisting to let go. To live the moment, enjoy it to the max, and then let it go.

I just read this in Blu’s blog “Hay que aprender a amarnos mientras estamos y queremos, hay que amarnos mientras podemos, mientras tus alas y las mías coinciden en vuelo. Y cuando nos hayamos ido hay que dejar de mirar el camino.”

It’s all over the place. Live, let go, and keep on living.

2 responses to “Letting Go

  1. Um. Well. I think maybe I should have read this post before I left my comment on the last one. (I read backwards…)

  2. Kate – It's very hard though, it's really not my forte to let go and of all these things at once? I think someone is really trying to test me.

Leave a Reply

