Addendum

I’ve been feeling a tad bad about the previous post. Mainly because it’s not entirely true and a bit of an exaggeration. I could chuck it up to being stressed and anxious about this whole dissertation writing against the clock, or the fact that I still need to find time to continue looking and applying for jobs, or that the whole finishing a stage of life and beginning a new one is a very nerve-wrecking situation, or I just needed to vent. Either way, the truth is that with all the bad also comes a lot of good. There are people at TC who I admire and who have helped me in many ways. There are professors from which I have learned a great deal and whom I would aspire to be like in certain ways. To say that the previous 5 years left only a negative balance, would be wrong.

I walk through the halls of TC and all the experience, the life that occurred in them projects on to me. So much greatness happened and still is happening in that place. TC has always been the mecca of progressive education and it seems like history is being made there every day. Did you know that the yellow school bus idea originated from a Conference held at TC in the late 30s? This is a place were progress is bread and change is not only a possibility but a constant. I have a lot to be thankful for from TC, from it’s halls, it’s classrooms and it’s people.

I just need to remember that tradition and greatness comes with a price, and I need to remind myself that the price even though high, is worth it.

2 responses to “Addendum

  1. I don't think you should feel bad about your last post about TC; I agreed with every word. It's a tough place, and I never could have anticipated how difficult it would be to get through, so I appreciated you putting it into words! But I also like this addendum, b/c it's something I try to remind myself of: if it was easy, everyone would do it. And one day (in the distant future) it WILL be worth it!

  2. emily – 🙂 Thanks Em. I still feel ambivalent about this whole situation and the worse part is that I know that it will always be bitter sweet and that still doesn't sit well with me. But hey, it's like you say if it were easy, everyone would do it, so I guess we're kinda special (in the good way 😉

Leave a Reply

