Hooker Hair

I discovered hooker hair back when I was fifteen and got my first perm. The eighties were bad for everyone, or so I hear. I have very fine, straight hair and fortunately for me straight hair is in this decade, or was at least in this past one. But now and then, I just get a bit tired of it and wish I had a little more volume and maybe even some waves. When I was a kid I would have killed for some Shirley Temple curls, but my hair was so straight, so fine, so soft, berets and pony tails would just slide off as if it were melting butter. So I figured I’d give in and buy one of these curling irons so vastly advertised and give it a try. The results? I give you hooker hair ala 2010.

So far it looks nothing like the commercials. If you have any suggestions on how to get this thing to work on my hair I would very much appreciate it. Thanks!

6 responses to “Hooker Hair

  1. OMG, I just went to Peru and had nice blowouts every week or so, super cheap!! $12 for blow-drying, flat ironing AND curling my massive amounts of hairs!! Anyways … I ended up with what my friends called "Venezuelan Soap Opera Hair" FABULOUS!! The trick at the hair salon is that they do these SUPER CRAZY curls, like starting half way on your hair, super tight ala Shirley curls, BUT within half hour they start to soften and look way more natural. I have super long and heavy hair so my hair doesn't hold the crazy curl (and I suspect yours won't either). So if you want Sofia vergara's hair, then do it like 1.5 hours before, crazy curls and don't worry, they'll fall on their own to give you amazing sexy waves!!

  2. iamalejandra – $12 blow-outs sound great! Although I have to say "peluquerias" are a bit wasted on me. I wash my hair everyday, so a blow-out usually lasts less than 24 hours. I think I need to try those super crazy curls though, there has to be some way to get some volume in this hair!

  3. There's this aveda stuff called magic powder or something like that. If you went into an aveda store and asked for it, they would KNOW what you're talking about. It make my fine, blow-away hair into a masterpiece! With just a few sprinkles. And it HOLD CURLS!

  4. Yeah… I got nothing darlin. I finally gave up and cut ALL mine off. 🙂 Now a teeny dollop of mousse and I'm good to go. ha..ha.ha…

  5. Kate – I will surely check it out, it sounds magical!PinkPiddyPaws – I saw your new look and it looks great! And of course the upkeep must be so minimal, awesome!

  6. I think it looks great anyway!Another tip is that the day you wash it, it;s much more flyaway and hard to style than the day afterwards or one after that, it sounds gross but some grease helps the style stay.Also good hairspray, and curling it more than you want and letting them fall out.If you have more layers it also takes some of the weight off and can help curls stay in.I have wavy/fine hair, I'd love to have thick hair like yours!!

Leave a Reply

