Be gone black cloud!

I’ve been glass-half-empty lately. And it’s so not me really. I usually am pretty positive and can find something good in anything that happens, but lately not so much. I need to change this and soon, because I feel ungrateful, spoiled and self-centered. It can’t all be about me and what I want, I know this, and yet I feel let down, somehow, by life.

I have so much to be grateful for, the people in my life who love me and support me, the commodities I have and the freedom I have to choose whatever I want to do, and the health and smarts that allow me to accomplish mostly anything. So why go around with the little black cloud over my head? A cloud, by-the-way, it seems, only I can see.

I’m hopeful though. I know I have a positive, happy nature, so I’m hopeful it will kick back-in soon. Also, the semester is almost over, which means this is my last stretch to get the two manuals I’ve been working on ready to hand-in in their final version and then forget about this work altogether. I’m looking forward to the holiday break, and I think the whole getting away to a warm place will help tons. We will see. Things will get better. They always do.

6 responses to “Be gone black cloud!

  1. Oh, lady. You and me, both. I've been so "down in the mouth" lately, and I hate that feeling! We can kick this, I promise!

  2. abbersnail – yes, we can! And we will, I'm sure of it, if only it were sooner than later, I would truly appreciate it! 😉

  3. Warmth and sun will cure you, for sure! Until then, do what I often do and fake it 'til you make it. I often force myself to smile at people, ask strangers how their day is going, etc. until my niceness actually makes me feel better. It works! Oh, and I also add Bailey's to my chai latte on occasion. That works, too. 🙂

  4. I'm trying to get the Christmas spirit, and I'm not there yet..

  5. Wait until the new year, new beginnings and all that – cold weather and darkness gets everyone down. IT WILL BE ALRIGHT AGAIN!! and…Happy Christmas!

  6. L – That is great advice, I've tried it before and it definitely helps, both the faking it and the little booze on the side ;)Buffalodick – When you least expect it it will show up and grab you by the lapel. The Sarjent – It will be, I'm sure 🙂 Merry Christmas to you too!

Leave a Reply

