On the town

I was supposed to work from home on my dissertation today, but the day started off all wrong when I slept in and didn’t get up until 11ish. I was very tired. This past week was quite packed, mostly fun stuff, but still physically draining, I needed to sleep. By the time I got my act together and started getting ready to work, my dad called. He was in town, only for a bit on his way back to Caracas from China, and had been in his PJs trying to make sense of the jet lag for the past two days. I figured it was time to get rid of the PJs and hit the streets, this is New York after all, the possibilities are limitless!

I went to pick him up at Liz’s and had to practically carry him out of there, but off we went over to the East side, down fifth avenue, the museum mile route.

Come on dad, say cheese, you can do it!

We bumped into the Guggenheim Museum first and thought since they had a Kandinsky exhibit, it would be fun to go in.

Right? We want to go in and see it!

Hmmm, I don’t know… what are all those people doing sitting outside?
Could it be closed already?

Apparently the Guggenheim closes at 5:45 pm on Fridays, and since it was 5:35 when we got there, it was bye-bye Guggenheim, see you another time Kandinsky. It’s still such a pretty museum, absolutely love the architecture.

We were off to the Met, you can always count on the Met to have something good to see.

So we checked the schedule and it was open ’till 9 pm. Score!

Off we went to see the Vermeer exhibit.

No photos were aloud there, so content yourselves with the museum’s website photos, or go visit the exhibit, it’s very nice, the paintings are incredible. But you know where they DO let people take pictures, without flash, of course? The sculpture gallery!

This guy is Ugolino and these are his sons. They must have done something horrible because they were imprisoned and sentenced to die of hunger.

Look at him, he’s in pain!

And this little guy already fainted, poor fella.

At this point I was starting to get hungry myself.
Lets go check out something else, please, the agony.

Beautiful details, can’t imagine how long it took to make one of these and to this degree of perfection too.

Enough of sculptures, were off to the Roof Garden,
where Roxy Paine was showing his Maelstrom piece.

It was packed. The roof garden seems to always be packed Friday nights.

Some people were still appreciating the art and were not only there for the drinks.

It is a quite interesting piece.

Supposed to portray the complexities of life. Hmmm.

Yep, I think I get it.

But look here, life can be like this too. Now isn’t this nice?

We were starved after all that art and headed over to Patsy’s for dinner.

We had Fettuccine Alfredo é Pollo. It was truly deliciously creamy.

And pizza, because if you go to Patsy’s you have to have pizza.
Can someone say stuffed?

Yep! And we even had some leftovers to take home!

A great day on the town, if I may say so myself.
My dissertation work you ask?
Well, there’s always tomorrow.

4 responses to “On the town

  1. Looked fun, and the pizza looked great!

  2. buffalodick – It was delicious!

  3. I love the roof garden at the Met! Haven't been there in ages. And oh my, your Patsy's meal looks outrageously delish.

  4. What a wonderful day you had! And such fun with your dad. One day when the kidlets are bigger and I'm feeling particularly energetic, I'm looking forward to tackling New York again!

Leave a Reply

