A good weekend

This was a good mellow weekend, which was a great thing since last week was a bit intense work wise. Since Wednesday I had been getting up at 6 am and going straight through the day until 5 or so, and Friday night I had a dinner at my boss’ place. The dinner was actually quite nice. I got a chance to meet up with some coworkers I hadn’t seen in a while (we all work on different projects and mostly from home) and met new people associated with the research center as well. The food was home cooked by my boss, all Indian, all delicious. But by the time I got home around 11 I was beat and ready to call it a night, incredibly grateful that the next day I could actually sleep in. And sleep in I did, all day to be exact. I woke up around 8 got some breakfast and went back to bed a couple hours later, to then wake up around 2 just in time for lunch.

The afternoon was spent reading in bed and watching The Pursuit of Happiness in DVD. After that it went a little south. I was terribly sad after that movie. I guess it has a little too much of the pursuit part and too little of the happiness bit. I wanted to cry, I really did, but for some reason, I’m guessing there weren’t actually enough reasons to do so, I didn’t. It seemed as though I couldn’t, or just didn’t want to, don’t really know which one it was. The fact was the sadness lingered for a bit and was difficult to shake off. I went to bed, read a little more and just fell asleep. Not for long though. It was one of those nights. I woke up at 1:45 am, fortunately went back to bed shortly after, but then woke up, this time with a nightmare, at 4 am. Lovely, just lovely. I thought of going for a run, but who dares go out to run at 4 am in NYC? Certainly not me. I tossed and turned and finally fell asleep again. I woke up at 7 and went for my run then. It was glorious. The day was a sight to be seen. Crisp, breezy, chilled, sunny, clear and just beautiful. Not too many people out at that time, although there always seem to be people at that East River park.

After my river run, Sunday consisted of brunch at Gabriela’s with a bunch of great ladies and then a picnic in Central Park. Em invited me for brunch with some of her friends, some of them bloggers too. This blogging gig never ceases to amaze me, all these people connected through blogging who otherwise would have never even know of each others’ existence. I love it, gotta love it really.

The picnic was great too. I met up with the Sanderson’s who had Daniel, Nick’s best friend, and we all headed over to Central Park. Food, drinks, talks, play, even a nap was squeezed in, it was perfect. On our way home we walked through the very first street fair of the season. A lot to see, not much to buy, thankfully. Street fairs in NYC are a staple of summer months and you can always find something, be it food or gadgets, there’s always something and they’re quite colorful too. Next time I’ll have my camera with me, promise.

We then headed over to their place and lounged in bed, talking, eating candy and reading. I headed back home around 9, it was time to go back and get things in order for Monday. This needs to be a very productive week, so I needed to start it out right. It was a good weekend, very relaxing and just what I needed after so much work the week before. Unfortunately, it’s over and now it’s back to work, work, work, and code, code, code.

Hope you all had a great weekend and great start to the new week. Here’s to being extra productive!

4 responses to “A good weekend

  1. My boss is from Pakistan and next week one of his sons is graduating from college. Which means…. FOOD! I don’t eat for two days in preparation to stuff my face. Seriously. It’s THAT GOOD.

  2. Kate – I know, and when it’s home made all the better, yum! You’ll have to let us know what you had and how great it was.

  3. Weekends like this – with a little bit of everything – are the absolute best, no? Did you cry at the end of Pursuit of Happiness? I sure did!

  4. SoMi’s Nilsa – I did. I cried during, at the end and after. It left me feeling sad all over.

Leave a Reply

