On 96 and Broadway

It was Saturday, I was running late as usual, going over to meet Liz for lunch. Getting off the M96, crossing the street, looking both ways, making sure I wouldn’t be hit by a cab because I was plugged into my iPod and couldn’t be bothered with slowing down. As I reached the street corner a man crossed my path and called out to me. He was carrying a heavy bag on his shoulder, all dressed in black and still looked a little out of place. ‘Maybe he’s lost?’ I thought. I took out one earphone and said “I’m sorry?” He looked me in the eye while saying “I just wanted to tell you, I think you’re beautiful.” A little stunned, I responded “Thank you.” He went on “And, I was wondering if you would like to have lunch with me sometime?” I thought ‘wow’ and said “Thank you, but no thank you” smiled and kept on walking.

Now, I don’t about you, but I thought this was one of the gutsiest asking-out-approaches I had ever encountered. How does someone decide to just, wham, like that ask out some random stranger off the street? It takes some serious guts. Too bad he wasn’t my type.

17 responses to “On 96 and Broadway

  1. Hahaha, only in NY!

  2. too bad indeed. Don’t think have ever been asked out like that!!Good for you; nice for the ego even if he wasn’t your type.

  3. Hey. I don’t know if I’d do it, but damn good for you, chica.

  4. But how do you KNOW he wasn’t your type?! 😉

  5. Mond – I know, right?The Sarjent – It was nice, it made me smile. Kate – I’d say, damn good for him! I don’t think I would ever have the guts to ask someone out like that.Justrun – I just wasn’t physically attracted to him… I know, shallow, but what can I say?

  6. That’s awesome! And yet, a little creepy. 🙂 Weird how it can be the same thing at the same time.

  7. PinkPiddyPaws – I know right, he could have been some weird ax murderer, this is NYC after all. Gutsy yet the same.

  8. I totally agree with you – that takes guts. How does someone do that? Well, it takes someone who realizes they really have nothing to lose and everything to gain!

  9. He sounds pretty awsome LOL, I have a feeling with confidence like that he won’t have any trouble finding a date! Here’s to hoping the next guy is your type!

  10. hahahaa nice one!

  11. SoMi’s Nilsa – So true. I think I need to realize that more often. Weekends Off – I hope he did find a great date. And yes, hopefully the next guy will be my type (fingers crossed) ; )berru – : )

  12. Well, he didn’t waste a lot of money on finding out if you were interested, I’ll give him that!

  13. hsahaha @ buffalo, hadn’t thought about it like that, most at least stump up a dinner 😉

  14. Those are the random compliments that I love the most. Not the prefabricated ones. I enjoy those. And even if he didnt say it, you are indeed beautiful

  15. yup, totally gutsy. i’ve often been in situations where i’ve wanted to do the same. but haven’t. i have a few times, but those have been the exceptions, not the norm. i wish people — all of us — weren’t so hesitant to do so. the worst that can happen is a “no” in return. same place as if you didn’t ask at all.

  16. Gracias mi Linda.Me meti en tu blog….Chica porque no fuiete a almorzar con ese chico??? esas cosas no pasan amenudo…..pueden ser vestigios del destino, que se impone…no cierres puestarantes de ver que hay dentro..Las cajas no siempre representan lo que contienen..BesitosTu Maqui.

  17. buffalodick – finding out if I am interested is never a waste of money or anything else, I assure you of that ; )The Sarjent – well, in my case, most know if I’m interested or not as soon as I do, so things don’t usually linger on for no reason. Miss M – Thanks doll. I now right? The ones you don’t expect, those are the ones that make our day. C – gutsy indeed, as we all should be. Maqui – Tu siempre tan linda chica. Si, es verdad, uno no sabe de donde le va a saltar la liebre, pero en este caso era mejor decir que no. Definitivamente hay que darle chance a la vida, pero tambien hay que saber “when to walk away”.

Leave a Reply

