Updates

My oven just went on a strike, but thanks to the handy man in my building, el Sr. Johnny, it is now under control. It’s a somewhat new oven/stove piece so I was surprised when the oven knob was left in my hand, and after further inspection the metal cylinder, it use to be attacked to and which controls the temp of the oven, slid back and disappeared.

I tried lifting the top to see if I could reach it, but there was nothing to be seen there and the surrounding metal piece, the knob holder, wasn’t budging either. So I did what every smart girl would do, I called for help. I wasn’t about the leave the oven on forever, now was I? El Sr Johnny came and worked his magic with his screwdriver, and the oven knob is back in it’s place and the over is now safely off. One of the stove knobs is now lose though, we’ll see how long he lasts. I’ll use the other burners for a while before I venture in there again. My life is so interesting, isn’t it?

On another updating note. I received an email from my blogger friend Sizzle the other day. It was in regards to that post I wrote about surrendering and leaving things to unfold as they may. Well in her email was a Daily Om she thought was fitting to what I had to say. In this Om they mentioned a surrender box, and explained that it’s a box which “allows us to let go of our worries and desires so the universe can take care of them for us… giving ourselves permission to not concern ourselves with that problem or its outcome any longer and trust that the universe is taking care of it.”

Well, in one of those synchronistic ways the universe works, I got what I was needing. My dad, who passed by NYC for a few hours on Sunday on his way back to Caracas, from an exhausting business trip to Europe and parts of Asia, brought me back this from Korea:

It’s a box containing a box!


How did he guess a box was exactly what I needed? I guess dads just know. This will from now on be my surrender box. Isn’t it cute?


As long as I’m updating you, let me tell you about my Lent progress. This here is week 5 of 7 (ouch!) and today is day 1 of 5. Things have been going well in terms of me delivering. I’ve been very diligent about it and have exercised 5 days a week throughout the past 4 weeks. This week I’m tired though. I think the weekend was too packed and didn’t allow for much sleeping which I truly need these days. Exercising which usually energizes me is taking a toll, and as I’m doing weights my muscles hurt and a part of me just wants to sleep instead of getting up to break up a sweat. But no worries, I’ve committed myself to this and I will make it, no doubt about that. Only three more weeks to go.

And speaking about the weekend, I had a very good date Sunday night. I wrote all about it on my digital journal, but I’m still not quite sure I want to expose the details here. You know, there’s the whole privacy aspect of it and also the jinxing bit. So I think I’ll wait it out. For now I can just tell you I had great time with him and I’m seeing him again for dinner tomorrow. He cooks! Did I mention he cooks? ; )

Ok, so that’s me. What have you been up to?

8 responses to “Updates

  1. wow I can’t remember the last time I was the first to comment in here, lol.I have been really busy working the last few weeks so I hear you on the exercise front. I am going on hol (and getting into a bikini) tomorrow though so I have been quite diligent about getting down the gym. Unfortunately I find that every time I go it makes me horrendously hungry afterwards and I usually undo all my good work then shovelling stuff down my throat. Now, I have a fast metabolism but it still makes me feel horrid, and it means I don’t really change shape just stay the same :(Good luck on the next few weeks, and on the date – sound promising!

  2. I love the idea of a surrender box. Because who doesn’t have things in their life that they can’t control and just need to let go? Wouldn’t it be cool to have a communal surrender box. Or pen. Or whatever it might be in size. The act of letting go is amazing. Let us know how it works for you!

  3. I like the idea of a box where you put those things. It didn’t work for me when I tried it, but you are the type of person who I think could pull it off (I’m too much of a worrier). And yes, the box is pretty.About the Lent thing, I think the moment we resent it it’s dangerous, so if you need a break, take it. In the end, is what you did the WHOLE season, not just a couple of days, that works and effects a change, I think.

  4. I have a God box for the very same reason.

  5. You are probably to young to have heard of a TV show called “The Dating Game”.. You would have been on it for sure!

  6. The Sajent – You know I’ve had weeks when that happens to me too. I could definitely eat everything under the sun, or at least try to. But I think it’s more anxiety than anything else. For me exercising by itself doesn’t make me slim down, I have to diet and mind what I eat, if not the pounds just stay put. Have a great holiday!SoMi’s Nilsa – that would be cool, a communal surrender box, neat! I will keep you update in how it’s working. Not so little Woman – Well, I’m very rational and a bit of a control freak, so not sure it will totally work, but I a willing to give it my best shot. The Lent thing is going ok. I can’t take a break, meaning I have to exercise 5 out of 7 days each week. I can though change the days I do so, giving me space in between the days I just feel too tire. I have played with that a bit. It’ll work, only 2 more weeks to go. Kate – Love the “God Box” name, maybe I’ll change it. Buffalodick – Oh but I’m not too young, I remember it perfectly, and yes, I would so be on it! ; )

  7. Have we already talked about this? I am trying to find the right box for my surrender box!

  8. Sizzle – Totally, your email was my inspiration for this.

Leave a Reply

