Need to start again

My parents left this morning, back to Caracas and Christmas if officially over in my place. Last night I put away all the decorations, the towels, the table cloth, and all the ornaments. Today I woke up late and got right to it. I took the lights off the tree and the tree went out. I was left to sweep a mess of pine needles, which were everywhere. My place feels so empty. I love Christmas and I’m a little sad its over.

Life goes on though, and I already have a couple of to-do lists for next week. I need to start working again on my data for my dissertation and working on the report for the case study for my job. I need to finish the ordeal that is registering at TC (tuition exception and all that paper work) and sorting out my schedule for the spring semester with CSS. Life definitely goes on and for me, it needs to start soon.

On a different note, I watched The Women. I saw the newer version at my sister’s a few days back and the 1939 version last night. I liked the original version much better than the Meg Ryan one. Have any of you seen it? The dresses, the richness, the non-PC dialog, the smoking everywhere, the women all dolled up and perfectly made-up all the time. I loved it. Every time I watch a movie form decades ago, especially around the 30s, I get a little nostalgic and I find myself cursing women-lib and feminism. I think we got screwed, or worse yet we screwed ourselves. Anyhow, without getting into deep discussions, I loved it and I highly recommend it. If you watch it, let me know and we can deliberate.

Have a great weekend!

9 responses to “Need to start again

  1. It will come around quick enough again! Have a great Jan though, sounds like you’ve got a lot to keep ya busy.Happy 2009! x

  2. I’m the same about being a little nostalgic for women to just be women. I hear you.

  3. Haven’t watched it…but now certainly want to check it out!! The glamour of those eras is truly intoxicating and inspiring…I can understand where you’re coming from when you say “we screwed ourselves”!

  4. Striking pose and photo of you as your new Icon… It is how I have always seen you!

  5. the sarjent – I will try my very best ; )kate – it must have been fun to live in the 30s…carolina – I bet you’ll like it. If you do watch it, let me know and we can talk about it, ok? buffalodickdy – and here I thought you had never seen me ; )

  6. Awww…I know how rough it is when the parents go back home. Hopefully you’ll get over this sadness quickly.Seems like you’re jumping right back into things, though!

  7. Check out my Freezing Amsterdam photos if you have the time, it’s been beautiful but cold here. On my blog…How’s the rest of the month going there?

  8. La Navidad también terminó oficialmente hoy en mi casa. Estuve muchos días fuera pero hubo quien disfrutó de mi arbolito con luces blancas y esferas azules y platas.El año ya arrancó, ¿¿ya viste??

  9. joe – I am finally, though it did take me a while to get motivated again.the sarjent – I saw your pictures, they’re beautiful! January is quickly coming to an end, it’s kind of scary how fat time is passing by these days. lau – es como triste no? Si vale, de que arranco, arranco!

Leave a Reply

