Being interviewed

Nilsa from SoMi has asked her readers to participate in an interviewing post and I was game to play. She sent me my questions, so here goes:

(1) Name only one blogger you really respect and tell me why.
You know, I mostly don’t know my blogger friends. They are people who I have come across mostly by reading other blogs and maybe found a comment they left interesting, so I went over to check them out. I find all the people I read extremely interesting though, sometimes I feel like I do know them, and when I tell other people about their stories, it’s like I’m telling a story about a friend whom I just spoke to. My sister always asks “do you know this person or did you read it on a blog?”. Regardless, I have high respect for most of the people I read, there are a few favorites I must read, some because they’re funny, some because they make me ponder and others just because I find fascinating or endearing. I think the people I respect the most are those who are very different from me and whom have had lives I’ve only seen in movies. They’ve been through what I would consider a version of hell and are still here, putting up a fight and living life day by day. To those bloggers, hats down, you rock!

(2) If you had to pick a non-urban, U.S. destination in which to vacation for a week, where would you go?
Somewhere in Oklahoma or Kansas (never been). A farm or ranch in the middle of nowhere, a plantation. Just because it’s so different from anything I’ve ever experienced and it just sounds so wholesome. I think I would find it grounding and would be a good chance to get my batteries recharged and possibly help me appreciate more what I have.

(3) If you had $500 to spend on housing, food and entertainment for the trip mentioned in (2), how would you spend it?
I would pay for room and board in the said farm/ranch and if possible work my dues for food. Entertainment? I’m not sure what is done for entertainment in a farm… do you know?

(4) Tell me about one person with whom you’ve lost touch. If you hope for a reunion, how would you like that reunion to take place?
Hmmm, lost touch… This one is hard because most of my friends are scattered around the world and I rarely see them as is, so even though I do value their friendship, distance has made us lose touch quite a bit. I miss them and of course I would like to see them and be able to catch up in person. But one person, hmmm… can it be a group? I would like to meet up with my colleage girlfriends and have a merienda, with no kids, just us, to talk, eat and drink, maybe in Suka? (this is my favorite martini bar in Caracas). Like the old days.

(5) In 2008, what was your biggest achievement and your biggest failure/disappointment?
My biggest achievement in 2008 has to do with my dissertation. It was a great year for it. I defended my proposal and got it approved, I got IRB approval and found a site, and then collected almost 80% of my data. Given that all I’ve been doing workwise for the previous 3 years was geared to get me to this point, I think it was quite an achievement.
Failure, I don’t think I had any, or maybe I just don’t think in terms of failures, but in terms of learning experiences. Regarding disapointments, I would have to say the men in my dating life have been the biggest disapointment not only this past year, but the 2 before it as well. It’s like they are set out to make me stop believing in men or in love, but no way, I will not let them win! ; )

If you want to be interviewed just leave me a note and I’ll send you your questions. Cheers!

10 responses to “Being interviewed

  1. great post, and happy new year! i’d love to be interviewed 🙂

  2. Oh thanks, Jen! What a great set of answers to my questions. I love your last one. Because it’s HUGE you achieved that much with your dissertation. And it’s equally as huge your disappointment with guys. As someone who didn’t mean her husband until she was well into her 30’s, I get where you’re coming from. And hang in there. *They* won’t win; but, YOU WILL!

  3. Interesting how some will give up at the first glimpse of failure in the hands of love.It’s an immense achievement, in and of itself, to not allow la “desilucion de amor” to suck the very air from your desire to find your happy ending!Salud a un 2009 profundamente maravilloso!!

  4. Oh, and by the way, I would like to be interviewed toocmmerino1@gmail.comThanks!!

  5. Hope you find that guy in 2009( or he finds you!)..

  6. bex – thanks! I sent you your questions, hope you like them.Nilsa – thanks for the questions and thanks for the vote of confidence. I also hope they won’t win.Carolina – Oh I’m determined to find my happy ending, whatever it might be. Hope 2009 brings with it all you desire as well, and I hope you like the questions I sent.Buffalodick – thank you!!!

  7. Entertainment on a farm? ha.ha.ha.. gathering the eggs, milking the cows, herding the horses, baling the hay, cleaning the stalls and watching the Hot, HOT farm hands in tight blue jeans and no shirt pour water all over themselves. meow!!!xoxoxoxoo

  8. pinkpiddypaws – now that’s good entertainment!

  9. “It’s like they are set out to make me stop believing in men or in love, but no way, I will not let them”so funny!! I like your attitude as well.

  10. Babycakes – positive is the only attitude to have in regards to love, if not we might as well give up before we start, don’t you think?

Leave a Reply

