Being thankful

Being home has been truly great. My family is awesome and with us nothing sad can last. We are all going through Toti’s death as best we can and in our own ways, but when we are together we are a happy, festive bunch. We are a bit on the creative funny side, and I think we owe that to Toti, so he would be pleased that we are still having a good time when we get together.

So far I’ve been to the cementary and to one of the masses. I have spent some time with uncles, aunts and my grandmother, as well as some of my cousins. I have a very big extended family, and this is only on my mother’s side, so you can just imagine how big my entire family really is. I love being here, feeling a part of something, feeling like I belong. Definitely, there is no place like home.

I know most of you will be spending some quality family time soon too. I hope you have a greta time and enjoy your Thanksgiving festivities. We all truly do have a lot to be thankfuk for, and for those of us being embraced my family and close friends, we have to give even bigger and broader thanks. Have a great time however you choose to celebrate it and remember that just being alive and healthy is something to be very thankful for.

5 responses to “Being thankful

  1. I’m so glad your family has one another for support. Being home and with ones you love can be so healing.My thoughts are with you!

  2. Sorry about your grandfather. My condolences to you and your family.

  3. Sometimes life has to throw us major curve balls for us to realize how much good we have. It’s sad to see a loved one go … but, the resulting family gathering and show of support is pretty darn incredible.

  4. While the reason for your gathering is a sad one, I’m happy to see that you’re reveling in each other’s company and honoring him in the way you show your love for each other.

  5. justrun – thank you. Yes, family being together and supportive is quite healpful in the healing department.buffalodick – thank you.nilsa – it truly is. It’s greta to see and feel us pull together. joe – I’m happy too. It was a very good things deciding to come.

Leave a Reply

