Got sleep?

I’ve been having trouble sleeping lately and I’m not quite sure why. These past weeks, on the days I go to the school to observe my dissertation participants, I get up at 6 am and sometimes I wake up before the alarm goes off, just because I’m afraid I will sleep in. I’m good that way, I can program myself the night before to get up a little before the actual time I need to be awake. Unfortunately, that also means I do not rest during the night, thinking about and anticipating the early rise. This, as you would suspect, makes me be tired and sleepy all day. You would think that I would be taking advantage of the days I don’t need to get up so early and sleep in, right? Um, not so much.

What’s been happening is that I’ve been having upsetting dreams, some even in the nightmare category and I wake up very early, sometimes in the middle of the night and usually I don’t go back to sleep. You see, I’m night person. I can’t go to bed before midnight, no matter how tired I am. Which also means I’m not a morning person, getting up early and ceasing the day is not my thing, but lately it has been for some odd reason (and don’t tell me I’m getting old, I don’t want to hear it).

I’ve been trying different things. I pray before I go to sleep, I meditate, I ask my guardian angel to look after me and provide with positive images for my dreams, but somehow I’m not getting through. My subconscious seems to have a lot to say and I’m hearing it, loud and clear. The dreams are about fights, misunderstandings, people angry at me, and even some deaths. Nothing you want to spend your resting time on. So I get up. Who wants to spend time on dreams like these when you could be going through your to-do list?

I’ve been very productive yes, and I’m getting a lot of things done. But I wake up stressed, tired, my neck hurts, my upper back is so stiff I can’t even do my binds in yoga anymore, and last week when I went to the chiropractor he put me on the electrical table because that was the only thing which might help. I’m telling you, it’s not good.

Last night a classmate recommended melatonin to help me sleep. She says it works wonders for her. Also, she uses aromatherapy scents on her pillow and there seems to be one called sleep. I wonder if they have one called good dreams? I’ll give it a try, who knows it might just help. I really need to sleep soundly and restfully. This past week the only night I slept like a baby and past 9 am was Saturday night, and that was because I went out and had a strong drink, which I hadn’t had in a while, but as you would imagine I’m not about to take up vodka to be able to sleep.

Do you have any recommendations? How do you sleep soundly?

9 responses to “Got sleep?

  1. Working out in the early evening always ensured a solid night of sleep for me!

  2. I’ve done the melatonin thing and it worked. Only problem would be if I didn’t have 8 hours dedicated to sleep. Less than 8 and I felt worse for the wear. bleh! Good luck!

  3. Isn’t it so unfair that at the times we need it the most sleep does not come easy?Sometimes an afternoon run will help me settle for the night, and then some yoga before bed. Other times my mind is just beyond help.I wish I had better suggestions.

  4. Un baño tibio justo antes de dormir. Puedes también rezar, a mi me funciona perfecto. Alterno oraciones y de pronto ya es de día porque no me enteré a qué hora me dormí. Bueno.. alguien por ahí dirá que yo no soy referencia, poseo el don del sueño profundo =DEspero que puedas conciliar el sueño y te relajes.

  5. Oh we are total oposites here, I’m an early to bed early to rise person. I have trouble falling asleep sometimes, melatonin does work for me but I agree with the above commenter, you must have 8 hours to sleep if you take it, I find myself groggy on the days when I’ve had less sleep.Before I go to bed I try reading or watching something boring on TV. I always take a hot shower to relax me, usually while I’m waiting for the melatonin to kick in.

  6. Yeah excercise, not eating right before you go to bed (some things like cheese and chocolate are supposed to give you bad dreams), and reading works for me. I usually read for twenty minutes and then am dozing off anyway.I’m not sure I’m a morning or an evening person – I hate mornings, but I can easily go to bed at 10.30, and sleep. Then again if I am out I can stay up until 5am, so maybe it’s just my body catching up when it can…I heard also that hematite (takes away negativity)) and Amethyst (for good dreams) under the pillow are supposed to be good, not sure if I believe that sort of thing though…Good luck!

  7. Never take vodka for a sleep potion.. It should only be used in the morning to wake up with.. 🙂

  8. Jen, me avisas si te funciona la melatonina… yo estoy igualita!

  9. I’m a night person myself, so I feel your pain when it comes to getting up. As for sleeping though, I find that a good work out does the trick. A little bit of wine never hurt either.

Leave a Reply

