Being productive

Sleep? Overrated! Apparently today that’s how I felt, even though it’s usually quite the contrary for me. Last night I went to sleep at 10:30 pm, a first for me in a long time. I’m more of a night person and tend to not be able to go to bed before midnight. Last night I was very tired, had woken up at 6 for work. Yet at 3:04 am I woke up in the middle of one of those nightmares that leaves you frozen solid, so much so that your muscles might even hurt when you finally come out of it. Well, one thought lead to the other and I was soon inundated with images about my day, my observations, my data, my thought process, and that was it. No more sleeping for me. I got up, brought my laptop to bed and got cracking. I managed to post on my research blog, which I had been meaning to do since last week, a very juicy post about observing and how I am approaching observations (if you are one of my critical friends, please visit Anamnesis). Who knew 3 am could be so inspiring?

These past couple days have been very productive. I am now in full blown data collection and analysis mode, thinking about my study constantly, which has me very excited. I’m taking a qualitative data analysis class which I am loving (geek? yes, what can I say? I’ve never been one to apologize for my interests) and it is really helping move along my thought process as I collect and organize my data. The professor who teaches it is awesome. I’m sorry to say that I have had very few outstanding professors at TC (yes, I do have very high standards, but I have also been a professor myself), yet this women is brilliant! Really, recommend her with my eyes closed.

On the secondary school front, I have been making progress too. I seem to had gotten a better handle on the kids (or they on me, not sure how that works) and yesterday’s relaxing/visualization exercise (one we do at the end of each class) was right on. They finally got into it, really into it. There was no opening eyes, no giggling, no bothering one’s neighbor, no loud disturbing noises. In fact I don’t remember calling out anyone’s attention during the entire 20 min session. It was as close to perfect as it might ever be with a group of 12-13 year olds. The discussion part of the class was also productive. There were interesting comments, and shared thoughts on definitions and importance of what we are studying. I think they might, just might (don’t want to jinx it), actually get something out of this emotional intelligence class.

The research project at my job is also coming along nicely. Last night I had a meeting with my boss and we delineated our goals and tasks, from now until December. We also talked about later steps and how we saw this study pan out. It’s really good to get a grip on the design and to have a macro view of the whole thing. Of course this means I left that meeting with a somewhat long to-do list, but I am excited about how all this is turning out, and I’m looking forward to crossing some of those tasks off.

So you see? No rest for the wicked! Or sleep, for that matter. But there is hope, today is yoga day and I will be nothing but relaxed after that, so I’m guessing a nap is a safe bet for me this afternoon. In fact, what am I waiting for? … zzzzzzzzzz.

Hope you guys are having a great week!

2 responses to “Being productive

  1. You seek productive, I seek reflective…

  2. buffalodisk – who said I wasn’t reflective as well? I’m a woman, multitasking is my middle name! ; )

Leave a Reply

