If I could Vote

At less than a month away from the next presidential elections in the US, politics seems to be the only topic people talk about these days. Well, politics and the economic crisis going on down in Wall St, which seems to be spreading into the common folk’s kitchen table faster than cancer. But that’s another post.

I’ve gone through my development process regarding the candidates and the answer to the question, if you could vote, who would you vote for? You see I don’t consider myself either republican or democrat. The bottom line is I’m not a US citizen, I just live in this country with no major rights, and thus can’t vote. But still, I have an opinion, right? Right.

I am from the more conservative view when it comes to family, marriage, religion and finances. I am for free market, less regulations and people taking care of themselves, not having the government or any governmental agency decide what is right or what I deserve. I work hard for what I have and I don’t want anyone controlling me. I’m pro freedom, the right of speech, and at the end of the day, I really do not want people telling me what I can and cannot do.

Don’t get me wrong I am no anarchist. I believe in laws and think we are better off having a juridical system than not. I also believe in women’s right and am pro equality both regarding gender and race. I am anti war. And when it comes to abortion I am pro choice, I believe every woman should have the right to decide what to do with their body, yet be it my choice I would most likely choose life.

So when people press me to define myself as democrat or republican, as either or, I find myself in a bind. You see, I am also Venezuelan. I lived in Caracas from 2000 to 2004 and during that time become more politically involved than I have ever been in my life. I went to every rally, march, meeting and petition signing there was. I was a strong participant of the opposition for Chavez’s government.

Chavez is from the left. The far, far left. And in Venezuela, I consider myself from the right, not the far, far right, but the right never the less. You remember how I said I was pro freedom? Well the left, in my country, has banned freedom and has taken the country from 50 years of democracy into what can only be termed a dictatorship. How we allowed a coup leader, anti democratic militar, who was incarcerated for his insubordination, run for president and win, is beyond me (damn you Caldera!), but we did, and now we are paying for it big time.

I understand and believe it is impossible for something of the sort to happen in the US. The left here would always still be democratic and never be allowed to spiral down into a dictatorship of any kind, thank God. But anything leftist, still raises the hair on the back of my neck every now and then, and I have to think of the disaster that happened and is still happening in Venezuela.

But then there are the candidates. Oh my lord, the candidates. Who in their right mind (pun intended here) would vote for McCain? Now really, who? If there was any sense of who the dictator would be if given the chance that would be McCain. The guy is petulant, pompous, aggressive and thinks fighting and wars are actual solutions to problems. He has the if you’re not with us your against us mentality, and I have more of live and let live take on life. So yes, if I could vote, I would vote for Obama, not because I’m a democrat, but because I believe he’s the best guy for the job. Yes, he doesn’t have a lot of experience, yes he’s a new comer, but he has his heart in the right place and is a smart, capable man, who also is humble enough to listen to others while making decisions.

I think I would describe myself as a middle ground person in terms of politics here in the US. Not to the right, not to left, but somewhere in the middle. Yet if I could vote next month I would vote for Obama. Not only is he the best choice for president in my view, but he also has the best choice for VP, because lets just come out and say it, that Palin women puts women in this country in a very bad light. As you southerners would say, bless her heart.

So there you have it. My answer to the question of voting. Not as straight forward as a simple McCain or Obama, now was it? But my answer in any case. Now, would you care to share your opinion? We all know you have one, so why not spread the love?

6 responses to “If I could Vote

  1. Our government has many checks and balances to keep a dictator from happening. There are so many political favors traded at election time, neither candidate could begin to keep his campaign promises. America needs leadership right now, and I don’t see either in that role…

  2. Its funny because they are encouraging you to vote and saying its your obligation as an American. Yet this will be the first election where I don’t know if it will make a difference. On some level I concur with the comment above.

  3. buffalodick – I’m so glad about that, it’s actually one of the reasons I moved back to the US. I agree, the US needs leadership and neither of these guys might be the best choice, but they are the only options offered, so there needs to be a decision made, regardless.ssc~the domestic diva – I believe the only way to maintain democracy alive is to exercise our right to vote. At the end of the day it’s not only our right, but also our duty. And yes, one vote, one single vote, can be all the difference that it takes.

  4. I think the biggest problem these days are that people vote for ideologies instead of ideas. For their party instead of the best candidate. I’m not going to say who I’m voting for, but to simply vote for someone because of their party affiliation – or to vote against someone for the same reason – is ludicrous. The other issue I have is with people not spending the time to get to know the candidates platforms. Instead they rely on rumor and sound bites and, as a result, spread disinformation as fact. Take the time to understand the issues and each candidate’s approach to them. Look at their record – not what their opponent says their record is, but at their actual record. There are plenty of non-partisan sites that separate fact from fiction. Go to them. Don’t rely on what you read in the papers or see on the news – those can be biased as well. Instead watch the debates and form your own opinions. Read everything you can.The right to vote is far too important to be tossed away by either not voting or by not knowing who and what you’re really voting for.

  5. This was a great post. One of many I’ve read from people who feel strongly about our political system despite having no rights to change it. I’m pretty open about my support for Obama. But, there are a lot of people in our country (A LOT!) who will support McCain. They are the people who would never vote to put a black man in office. The people who have been misinformed (and refuse to correct themselves) and incorrectly believe Obama is a Muslim. The people who are one-issue voters (i.e., vote for the candidate who is anti-abortion). The people who are fighting the war or who have children who are fighting the war and believe to stop now is anti-troops. Lots of reasons. And lots more people pull for McCain. In big cities like New York and Chicago, it’s hard to see how the man could even have a fighting chance to be put in office. But, travel to suburbia. Travel to the farmland. And wow, it’s a different picture. Scary beyond belief.

  6. joe – I agree, I think most of us are not as well informed as we should be. I know if I could actually vote, I’d be a lot more proactive about getting information and not relying only on what I gather from the debates and their analysis, which is what I have limited my self to these days. nilsa s. – What is scary to me, is not that they’re voting for McCain, but the reasons why they are doing so. You’re right, there are a lot of one-issue voters out there, which I guess is legitimate way to go about it, but a bit narrow if you ask me.

Leave a Reply

