A better view

Well, I’m not tired or angry any more. What a difference a few days make. I’ve been talking to friends and to my sister, and they have given me different angles to look at things, which I highly appreciate. I worked some, I slept-in some and chilled some. Also, I went out last night and had a few drinks while shaking the booty a bit. I went to mass this morning, I got a much needed mani/pedi and I finished a book which turned out to be very insightful; so the view from where I’m standing today is much, much better than Friday’s.

I’ve discovered a few things about me in this process. (1) No matter how badly a person I care about has behaved, having others trash them upsets me, and I will immediately come out to their defense. Sometimes I just want to be heard, not empathized with or even offered solutions. (2) Regardless of any amount of opinions, solutions and ideas I am given by people around me, in the end I need to do what I think is right and what will work for me, when and only when I am ready for it. The only way I will preserve relationships is if people around me understand and respect this about me, if not, sadly, I will pull away. (3) Time heals everything, and usually brings with it better moods and new perspectives. Yesterday’s debacle can be today’s funny anecdote, it’s just a matter of feeling it differently.

Thank you all. Thanks for letting me vent. Thanks for offering your views. Thanks for understanding that in the end I will do what I need to do to make things right for all involved, no matter how crazy that might seem to some of you. Thanks for letting me be me. And thanks for being you.

11 responses to “A better view

  1. Yeah, yeah, ok, everything’s better now. Who cares? What we want to know is: did you got a dog or not?

  2. sd – : ) no, I’m still thinking about that one.

  3. Jen–Yes, we dont always want solutions. Just sometimes someone to listen and understand. A hug, a smile, a glass of wine. Women are not so complicated really! Glad you are feeling better. ~~Dee

  4. So glad everything is OK now. And you’re right. The people in your life come to you with their own biases. Their own hang-ups. Their own experiences. Which largely shape how they view your life. Only you know what is best for you. And only you live with your decisions. Yay for taking control!

  5. By the way darlin… what did you think of “Love the one you’re with”? I read it at your recommendation you know. :)I’m glad you are doing better!

  6. Well, if you feel better now, that’s what counts!

  7. Glad to hear that you’re in a better place. Sounds like you’ve come to the best solutions for you, and that’s all that really matters.

  8. i’m happy to see you’re feeling better and are having these uplifting thoughts!

  9. dee – thanks! Next time I will go for that glass of wine, maybe it will only take one day, instead of two!nilsa s. – yay indeed! : )pinkypiddypaws – I liked it a lot. It made me think about the ability we have to decide to be happy, not because we’re settling, but because it works best for us. I just finished “How to be single” by Liz Tuccillo, and loved it. You might like it too. buffalodick – there was someone counting? ; )joe – yep, I guess we can only do what works for us, right? ; )pinknest – : ) thanks, so am I.

  10. it all seems better in the morning, huh? Good!

  11. the sarjent – it sure does : )

Leave a Reply

