Four Layers on the Fourth

I bumped into this recipe at Cookie Madness, which has turned out to be one of my daily reads, mostly just to have my virtual sugar fix, since I’m still dieting and all. Anyhow I decided enough is enough, and I would just let it all rip this weekend, or at least today, it’s a holiday for Pete’s sake! (the things I come up with to allow me some sweets).

The ingredients:
Butter for greasing dish
1 1/2 cups Nilla Wafer crumbs, regular or reduced fat (I obviously used reduced)
4 tablespoons butter (regular salted type), melted
4 egg whites, room temperature — large
1/2 cup granulated sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Pinch salt
1 cup heavy whipping cream
1 1/2 tablespoons granulated sugar
½ teaspoon vanilla extract (this part I skipped and just bought some Cool Whip Lite)
1 pint assorted berries, sweetened to taste with sugar

The procedure:

1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F. Rub bottom and sides of baking dish with butter.


2. Stir together Nilla Wafer crumbs and melted butter.
Press this mixture into bottom and slightly up sides of the greased dish.



3. Beat egg whites with an electric mixer until soft peaks begin to form. Slowly add the 1/2 cup sugar to the egg whites. When whites are stiff, beat in the vanilla and pinch of salt.


4. Spread egg white mixture over crust, doing your best not to let it touch sides of pan.

5. Bake crust & egg white mixture for 16-18 minutes or until top is golden brown. Let cool on a wire rack until ready to serve.

6. Spread whip cream over cooled meringue. Arrange berries on top.



And there you have it. Happy Fourth of July!!!
10 responses to “Four Layers on the Fourth

  1. That looks great! I was wondering what I could do with the Nilla Wafers I have. I don’t think my nephew can eat them all before they go stale. Well, he COULD but we won’t let him.;-)

  2. yummmmmy! You’re a really good cook. Wish I could bake, I can never really be bothered to do it!!

  3. You had me at ‘Nilla wafers.

  4. I am coming over for dinner, and I will bring a bottle of wine. Two if we need to. But can I please have that desert.

  5. That looks amazing! And that looks like the perfect baking-while-dieting recipe … Any cake batter or cookie dough and I would eat it all before it hit the oven …

  6. Looks amazing. If only you had beer in your fridge to enjoy with that…lol

  7. Pero bueno Jen estas pasada de Chef,te felicito esto me dejo en shock! AMO LAS FRESAS!Gracias por compartir estas recetas maravillosas!Un abrazo!:)

  8. That looks yummy! Add in some blueberrys and you’ve got Red,White and Blue. 🙂

  9. Looked great! See what you can do ?

  10. sizzle – make it, make it, it’s very good!the sarjent – I LOVE sweets, that’s the main reason I bake. justrun – : ), come on over for a piece!misstressm – doll, you can have all you want, come on over anytime!molly – now that you mention it, it did seem very light, or at least it lightly disappeared from the fridge quickly ; )joe – oh but I do!clau – si vale, a mi me encantan tambien!pinkpiddypaws – the original recipe had blueberries, but I like raspberries better. buffalodickdy – I see, I see.

Leave a Reply

