Did someone say a little jazz?

I’m exhausted. I’ve been working non stop for my research assistant job for the past 3 weeks and I am very, very tired. We have a client visit scheduled for next week and my boss, who is the queen of last minute preparing, has been driving us mad.

Anyhow, it hasn’t been all work and no play. In fact, last night I had a second date with a cute, sweet guy whom I like a lot. But I’ll tell you more about him if/when things progress.

We met at the West Village at The Baggot Inn for trivia night but the place was closed. He apparently had been there the week before, but last night it was closed, as in out of business, who knew? He was set on doing something fun and different, and had an alternate plan so we walked to Fat Cat. If you’ve never been there, you need to check it out sometime. It’s a jazz bar filled with different types of games for all inclinations. Chess, Pool, Ping-Pong, Shuffle Board, Foos Ball, Checkers, Backgammon, Othello, etc. We got some drinks and played scrabble. Believe it or not I had never played this game, I know, I know.

After a while the music started. They had a live band playing salsa music for a while and after midnight the jazz began. After the jazz band played a few pieces, it was an improv, whatever goes kind of thing. Musicians starting popping in from no where, and they would just take turns at doing their thing. There were all types of instruments and singers. It was a lot of fun to watch. I had never been to a place like this, but then you can expect anything from a bar at Greenwich Village, right?

It’s a great place. Totally recommend it, the music is worth it, and if you have good company, the sofa lounging is not bad either ; )

4 responses to “Did someone say a little jazz?

  1. Sounds fun- I love jazz!

  2. I’m not a huuuge fan of jazz, but it sounds like fun. You certainly had a good time, and that’s what counts…

  3. Great night, great company. What’s not to love?Hold on. You had never played Scrabble?!? Never?*sigh*

  4. sizzle – when ever you’re in town we need to go to this place!not so little woman – you know I’m not a huge jazz fan either, but seeing these guys jamming was quite great.joe – umm, err, yeah, first time.

Leave a Reply

