Update: A little of everything

Well, things in Venezuela are still heated, as always, and Chavez, who first was all “my dignified adversaries have won and we have to respect that” is now firing people left and right, who he knows did not vote, and threatening everyone and their mothers saying that now they will know who he really is, and will suffer his powerful revenge. Talk about a sore loser!

Anyhow, it’s the season to be jolly, and jolly I am! 15 more days until Christmas, 9 more days until I go to Venezuela (for a month!!!), and 3 more days until my friend Tom comes to visit! I am so excited, can you tell? I have made a ton of progress too. I have some decorations out in my apartment (since I’m going away and won’t be here for Christmas, I just decorated my door, for my neighbors’ delight), my Christmas cards are on their way via snail mail, almost all presents are bought, and lose ends in the errands/bills/banks/consulates/visa departments are either taken care off, or on a list and won’t slip through the cracks. Things are looking good, yay!

This weekend Sophie (my 2 year old niece) stayed with me for a sleepover. We had so much fun. She is such a beautiful, sweet, and smart little girl, always on the look out for things to learn and wanting to participate in everything done around her. She’s truly a God send and a joy for all close to her. I feel so lucky to be able to spend time with her and Nick (my soon to be 9 year old nephew). For so long my sister and I lived in different countries, and I felt I had missed out in so much of Nick’s life. I was here when Sophie was born, so she doesn’t know life without me, and I am so grateful that I now don’t know life without her. She is truly special and I adore her (can you tell?).

In the boyfriend front nothing has happened. Remember I said I would take a break? Well I have been breaking ever since, and I have to say it feels good! I had a non-eventful date some weeks back, but from the get-go I knew that wouldn’t amount to more than a couple of drinks. Some guys have been emailing and wanting to go out, but I really don’t feel like it. I need some time to myself, I need to focus on me right now and not invest all my time and energy on “is he interest? does he want the same things I do? will he call? do I really like him? is this worth it?” etc. I have a ton of things to do before I go: finish the semester (papers and presentations), present to the committee sponsoring the research center I work at (presentation and meetings), meet with my sponsor and second person to set goals for next semester (update proposal), buy remaining presents, celebrate Nick’s birthday, attend a Christmas gathering this week, entertain and spend time with Tom, and eventually pack (after I have bought another suitcase which I will most certainly need!). You see? No time for guys, and I’m actually loving it! : )

11 responses to “Update: A little of everything

  1. Venezuela for a month? Cool! I hope you put up some pictures, I bet it is a beautiful country. And it sounds like you have some good decorations going, how about some pics of those?!

  2. Sounds like you’re happy, productive, and in the Holiday spirit! Enjoy your trip home- bring back stories and pictures!

  3. Sounds like a very busy time! Good for you that you are keeping busy and enjoying it solo. I wish I have gotten as much Christmas stuff done as you have. Have fun in Venezuela, looking forward to posts about your trip.

  4. I’m obviously not checking in here enough– I feel out of the loop. I didn’t know there was a break!

  5. aaaghhh yo pensaba verte en NYC, llego el 26:( buaaaaa..ni modo, será despues, pasatelo divino en tus vacaciones Jen..Un abrazote..

  6. wow, sounds like you’re organized and ready for some holiday festivities and eateries!

  7. Ohhh!! I remember the days when I used to pack for Christmas breaks and had to run and get the visa stuff settled. Boo! I miss (kinda) being a student.Have loads of fun!! A month of very well earned rest awaits you!

  8. I’ve enjoyed reading your perspective on Chavez. It’s good to hear something more real and less “media-fied.” (I make up words.) :)”I just decorated my door, for my neighbors’ delight”– me too!

  9. jarod – very cool indeed! Pictures will come, no worries.buffalodickdy – thank you! I will!passionista – going it solo has turned out better than I thought it would. Thanks for the good trip wishes and yes, photos and stories about my trip are to come. hadrian – come on, get with it! 😉 There has been a break for almost two months now!pillo – conchale! Bueno, sera en otra oportunidad, que disfrutes mucho de tu viaje!pinknest – ready I am, organized, not so much.not so little woman – thank you, thank you!justrun – ye[p, the media never does justices to what real people are actually living. Yay for Christmas decorations!

  10. seems like you are busy, busy as ever. I have been taking a bit of a break – getting used to being by myself again as have had lots of ‘me’time since I have been away, which have found quite therapeutic. Glad you’re finding the same!! x

  11. the sarjent – these are the time, hope things are falling back into place with you.

Leave a Reply

