Which are you?

Upon hearing him complain about how difficult his life was, she put three pots of water on the stove. When the water came to a boil, she placed carrots in the first pot, eggs in the second pot, and ground coffee beans in the third. After boiling for 20 minutes, she asked him what he saw.

“Carrots, eggs, and coffee,” he replied.

She brought him closer and asked him to feel the carrots (they were soft), the eggs (they were hard), and to taste the coffee (it was good!).

She explained that each of these objects had faced the same adversity: boiling water. Each reacted differently. The carrot went in strong, hard, and unrelenting. However, after being subjected to the boiling water, it softened and became weak. The egg had been fragile. Its thin outer shell had protected its liquid interior, but after sitting through the boiling water, its inside became hardened. The ground coffee beans were unique: after they were in the boiling water, they had changed the water.

“Which are you?” she asked her son. “When adversity knocks on your door, how do you respond? Are you a carrot, an egg or a coffee bean?

-condensed from unknown source, submitted by Brad W., Phoenix AZ

10 responses to “Which are you?

  1. Very nice way to begin the week, and certainly something to think about. I’d probably prefer to be like the coffee beans, but rather than look to the past to examine what I’ve been, I think I’ll keep this in mind and use it in the future.

  2. thanks for sharing this – I like it. I’m feeling like a carrot these days, but I aspire to change that!

  3. scott – I liked it too, and thought it would be nice to share.joe – good plan! I think I’ll do the same.emily – you’re welcome. I really wish there was more that I could do for you right now. Hang in there.

  4. I am coffe beans…..but I think that changes..it depends on the water hahaha…..

  5. I might be a little bit of each one…

  6. ooh i don’t know!! why can’t it be a deep fryer?? i feel like that’s more applicable.

  7. When you soak me in hot water I get pruny- but I do change the water into a bathtub ring…..

  8. Good one.I’m aiming to be like a coffee bean, but I’ve been quite eggy in my life.

  9. I have heard this before, however during the most recent encounters in my life this is an excellent refresher. Thanks for sharing this!!!!

Leave a Reply

