Chicken or Pig?

My sister sent me this today and I thought it would be nice to share.

The power of commitment is wondrous
and can transcend all other forces.
-Shihan Tak Kubota, submitted by Marc L., Madison WI

The difference between involvement and commitment
is like eggs and ham for breakfast;
the chicken was involved,
the pig was committed.
-source unknown, submitted by Julie S., Greendale WI


What projects are you involved with right now that could benefit from a 100% commitment? Is there a relationship or a class or a committee or recent life change that you’re putting time into, but not really investing your heart and soul in?

You might need to get “uninvolved” with a few other things that are on your plate in order to have the time, energy, and passion to commit more fully; perhaps you will get motivated if you take some time right now to imagine the possibilities if you unleash a laser focus of commitment on one thing.

On the other hand, if you consider this and decide you do not WANT or NEED a full commitment, it is perfectly acceptable to continue your current level of commitment while recognizing that you only get out what you put in.

For each item on your plate, ask yourself “Should I be a chicken, or should I be a pig?”

Have a good breakfast, and have a good week!

10 responses to “Chicken or Pig?

  1. Jen: eso lo dijeron también en un capitulo de Grey´s Anatomy..buenisimo..por otro lado creo que hay veces que uno elige ser pollo y otras chancho…dependiendo….

  2. Commitment should always be on a level with reward. That reward might be just feeling good about a job well done, or monetary or, etc.There is a fine line between being a good person and a chump…

  3. but i want to be the chicken and the pig and eat them both, too! haha. anyway, i feel overwhelmed and motivated at the same time actually.

  4. Great life lesson! Now I want some breakfast.

  5. Me being me, I saw the picture and read the first line and said “That was really nice of Jen’s sister to send that breakfast over” If people constantly tell me that I should be committed, does that make me a pig?

  6. pillo – ahora que lo dices como que si me acuerdo de eso en Grey’s Anatomy, que buena memoria!buffalodickdy – you are so right! The reward often makes the commitment. And the good person versus chump, so very true. pinknest – I want to eat them both too! I’m glad you’re in a stimulating situation, way to go!alissa – if only we practiced more, right?joe – I’m still laughing out loud!

  7. I could never understand why someone would do a project half-ass and call it a day.

  8. i wish i understood what was written in spanish, but yes, grey’s anatomy!i think it’s funny that people tend to associate pigishness with negatives like selfishness, but in this context, it’s associated with positives like commitment and selflessness. the dual nature of the pig 🙂

  9. The pig dies and the hen/chicken doesn’t… with that being said, I rest my case about men being afraid of commitment… and some women too.

  10. I’ve been meaning to comment on this one – i love it! My sister likes to say, some days you’re the windshield, but some days you’re the bug. 🙂

Leave a Reply

